What is Clean Eating Plus Recipe

**This post is a little late.  Yesterday was very busy and crazy for us.  Thanks for understanding.  I also wanted to state, that I am in no ways a nutrition expert, actually far from it.  I am just writing from my experiences and what has helped me lose my weight.  My goal is to help others through my experiences.****

Yesterday, I talked about our relationship with food, so today I thought I would talk about “clean eating.”  It’s funny because before I knew there was a term for it, I was already on the “clean eating” journey.  But having a term to reference and knowing what it is, since it varies from person to person, is very helpful.  To help you understand the different methods of clean eating,  I took an excerpt from my favorite site on this:

THREE METHODS FOR EATING CLEAN

METHOD 1
There are many people simply looking to remove the chemicals from their DIETS and bodies, and therefore  eat clean. Their focus is NOT on LOSING WEIGHT, but on general health.They avoid processed foods of all kinds, yet eat only when the need arises or three times per day.

METHOD 2
(I believe this is the most common/popular method at the moment)

  1. Eat  Lots Of Plants – Eat food that is straight from nature. (Some people say “as close to the way nature made it as possible”. But I think that leaves too much wiggle room – in my humble opinion) Eat mostly foods that are off a tree, bush, plant or vine, and you’ve pretty much got it covered. The idea is to stay away from anything that humans (food corporations) have altered in any way.
  2. Include Meats – Eat meats that are whole and straight from the butcher. Don’t buy pre-packaged meat products because you never know what’s in them. When possible, buy whole meats and grind them yourself. You’d be surprised what’s in ground turkey meat! You can also select a few turkey breasts and ask that the butcher grind them for you. Many butchers are more than willing to ACCOMMODATE.
  3. Enjoy Grains – Eat grains that are still complete and haven’t been broken down into “glue”. Stick to brown rice, whole wheat and other whole grains.(For a list of foods to stock your pantry with, check out this list.)
  4. Read Labels I don’t know how many breads I’ve picked up at the store that say they are whole grain. But when I take a look at the ingredient list, white flour is the second ingredient after whole wheat flour!
  5. Eat Fewer Ingredients. Try not to purchase foods that have more than 3-6 ingredients in the ingredient list. And be sure you recognize each and every ingredient. If you find a “mystery ingredient” such as “spices”, contact the company! Ask them what they consider to be spices. If it’s anything other than honest-to-goodness herbs and spices, avoid it! And remember, if you can’t pronounce it, it probably shouldn’t go into your body.
  6. Eat 5-6 small meals per day. This may seem like a lot at first. But remember, you are eating smaller portions. If you really have a hard time with this, prepare your regular three meals and a snack for the day, and divide lunch and dinner in half. You’ve instantly got 6 small meals!

METHOD 3
There is also another method of eating 3 regular meals and squeezing in 1 snack for a total of 4 meals. You eat every four hours instead of every 2-3. This concept is from Jillian Michaels and the theory behind it is that if you eat every 2-3 hours, your insulin stays continuously spiked and you end up with a higher chance OF DIABETES
Read more: http://www.thegraciouspantry.com/what-is-clean-eating/#ixzz3FBWWWkIY
© The Gracious Pantry. All rights reserved.
Follow us: @graciouspantry on Twitter | GraciousPantry on Facebook

 

Some great resources for clean eating you should check out are:

1. ****Best Resource to get you started**** Clean Eating 101: http://www.thegraciouspantry.com/clean-eating/

2. Clean Eating Magazine site: http://www.cleaneatingmag.com/………get site filled with recipes, articles, ideas, & blog

3. 10 Ways to Eat Clean-great article:  http://www.eatingwell.com/nutrition_health/nutrition_news_information/10_ways_to_eat_clean?page=2

 

Before I knew there was a termed coined for how I was eating, I was eating this way.  For me it has been a process, something that hasn’t happened overnight.  I still struggle every day with my eating habits, since I am a big salt & sweets person.  I have good days where I feel great.  And then I had bad ones, where I give into my cravings, where I don’t feel my best.  This is life, taking the good with the bad.  I just make sure my bad days aren’t everyday, so I don’t ruin all the progress that I have made.

 

Today’s recipe:
taken from http://www.cleaneatingmag.com/recipes/coconut-cream-pie/

Coconut Cream Pie

Say good-bye to heavy cream, half and half, shortening and butter. Our cleaned-up version of this classic pie is light on saturated fat (not to mention prep time)

CocunutCreamPie_article

Photo: Yvonne Duivenvoorden

By Marianne Wren

Serves: 8
Hands-on time: 20 minutes
Total time: 2 hours, 30 minutes

INGREDIENTS:

CRUST

  • 1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup spelt flour
  • 1/4 cup whole unsalted almonds
  • 2 tsp raw honey
  • 3 tbsp safflower oil

FILLING

  • 1/3 cup light coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup coconut water
  • 1 cup low-fat milk
  • 1/3 cup organic evaporated cane juice
  • 1/4 cup brown rice flour
  • 1 tsp pure coconut extract
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened flaked coconut, toasted, optional

EQUIPMENT:

  • 9-inch pie pan

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F. Prepare crust: In the bowl of a food processor fitted with a steel blade, blend oats, spelt flour and almonds until a fine grind has been reached, about 3 minutes. Add honey and oil and pulse until mixture becomes crumbly and sticks together when squeezed in your palm. Turn mixture out into pie pan and press into bottom and sides of pan. Bake for 10 minutes or until lightly browned. Remove from oven and allow to cool.
  2. Prepare filling: Combine all filling ingredients in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil on medium, stirring constantly with a whisk. Continue stirring and allow to boil for 1 minute. Remove from heat and allow mixture to stand for 1 minute without mixing. Pour into baked pie shell. Chill in fridge until set, at least 2 hours.

Nutrients per serving (1/8 of pie): Calories: 196, Total Fat: 9 g, Sat. Fat: 1 g, Monounsaturated Fat: 6 g, Polyunsaturated Fat: 1 g, Carbs: 23 g, Fiber: 2 g, Sugars: 10 g, Protein: 4 g, Sodium: 22 mg, Cholesterol: 0 mg

One thought on “What is Clean Eating Plus Recipe

  1. Pingback: The Weight Loss Diaries Continues | Living Intentionally Simple

Leave a Reply

