Stressful Holiday or Not

2014-11-30 20.30.29

The holiday season is the busiest time of the year for a lot of people.  The stress of presents, decorating, kid stuff, school events, family functions, work parties etc….There’s a lot to fit in, in a short period of time.  For me, it used to be a crazy stressful time, one that I thought I enjoyed.  But looking back, I realized that I didn’t enjoy it much at all.  I never had time or energy to enjoy the magic of Christmas.

A few years ago, I decided that things needed to change.  I didn’t want to miss out on my favorite time of the year with my family.  I didn’t want to miss out on the little moments,the moments that I should be cherishing.  That’s when the holidays and the stress of it all changed for me.  That’s when I decided to be more intentional with the activities and experiences rather than getting wrapped up in all the consumerism.  And when I decided to make things simpler and more intentional,  the holidays for my whole family became more meaningful to us.

Your holiday will only be as stressful, busy, simple, or as fun as you make it.  It’s all in your hands, no one else.  So why make it anything but a fun joyful occasion.

What are some ways you can make your holiday less stressful and more meaningful?

Leave a Reply

