Resolutions, Word of The Year, Or Neither……..Which Do You Do?

New Years will be here soon, which is the time that people make new years resolutions.  I used to make them up until 3 years ago.  There is nothing wrong with resolutions, but for me they didn’t mean anything.  They didn’t get me motivated or excited, in fact a week later, I would forget that I even made them. Then all year life would march on, and once again around New Years, I would it all over again.  Looking back, I find it funny how pointless it was for me.  Don’t get me wrong, if it works for you, fantastic.  Keep doing what works but if it doesn’t you may want to pick a word instead.

3 years ago, I stumbled upon people picking out 1 word, that they would use as their year’s theme, something they wanted to focus on throughout the year.  I thought about it and really liked the idea.  For me, this was great, all I had to do was pick 1 word.  Well, it isn’t as easy as it sounds.  And to take it one step further, once I pick the word, I would write down attainable goals to accomplish throughout the year.  I would have been happy with completing 50% of my goals.  Just like resolutions, I would forget about my goals, but when New Years came around again, I found the word and goals I wanted to work on, and you know what, I completed almost all of them.  That’s when I realized the word of the year and goals works best for me, so from then on I have been doing just that.  My 1st year I picked family and had about 15 goals (13 were completed) & my 2nd year I picked intentional and had 12 goals (all 12 were completed).

For my upcoming year, I am still debating but narrowed it down to three words.  When this happens, I write my goals out for the year, and see which word fits the best.  I make sure my goals are realistic, attainable, & something that I would actually do.  No dreaming or fantasy goals allowed.  I will be posting on my word soon, but for right now, I am working on my goals.

This year, I found a group of like minded people who also picks a word for their year instead of resolutions.  If you are interested in joining or checking it out, go to oneword365.com.

What do you do for the new year?  Resolutions? A word? Something else?  Or nothing?

2 thoughts on “Resolutions, Word of The Year, Or Neither……..Which Do You Do?

  1. I have a similar history as yours with resolutions. I like the idea of having one word with goals attached. My plan is to make goals an active part of my life this year. I’m definitely going to look into that group and give it serious consideration. Either way, I look forward to hearing about your one word and goals.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Kat Got Your Tongue- Resolutions vs. Goals | Dandelion Fuzz

Leave a Reply

