4 Ways To Have A Frugal But Rewarding Adventure

This is the 1st of Tues Travels posts

123

Adventures, who doesn’t like them?  Traveling & exploring is a part of who I am.  I am in my element every time I go on a new trip, whether local or not.  Having an adventure can be as simple or complex as we make it.  For me, going on an adventure means going someplace that I don’t go to very often or exploring a local place but in a new way.  To complete my adventure I must always have 1 thing on hand, my camera.  I keep it simple, fun, & relaxing.  More so than not, it gives me time to reflect & do a little self searching, which is so very beneficial for me.

This year, I made a pact with myself, that once a week I would go on an adventure (big or small).  I would take time out for myself while all 5 kids are in school all day.  We all need this time and for once I am putting it aside and making it a priority to do so.

One thing people ask me all the time, is how I can afford to go on an adventure.  It makes me smile when I get asked because most people’s idea of an adventure is something you would see on tv.  They don’t understand  that these trips don’t have to cost an arm or leg, in fact it usually is only the cost of gas $ and an occasionally lunch.

We have it in our power to make a trip simple, cheap, & fun or a grand, expensive, & stressful time.  Below are 4 tips to help make your next adventure simple, frugal, & fun.

4 Ways To Have An Frugal But Rewarding Adventure

*Change your perspective

You can have adventure anywhere, you just need to open your eyes & change your perspective.  Instead of thinking about a fantasy getaway, realize you can have a great adventure in your hometown, in your back yard.  For me, living in a rural town, I can go on any local walking trail or the local Dam and have a new adventure each time.  I am lucky for this, but in the city you can do the same.  Just act like a tourist & try to look at things from a fresh set of eyes.  For example: tomorrow I will be going out on a trip to an hr or so away, depending how I feel tomorrow morning.  This could mean walking around the city of Lowell Mass or going to a rural Vermont town or going to a Maine seacoast town.  Any of these would satisfy my traveling bug & bring new something to table.  Make today your day 1 and open your eyes to the wonderful world around you.

*Interact with people you meet-

I am an introvert, which makes walking up to random people and striking conversations a hard task to do.  Instead, when I am walking around, taking pics or taking it all in, 9 times out of 10 someone will interact with me.  And then I do engage with them enough to get a story out of them or out of the place I am at.  And let me tell you, strangers have the most interesting stories to tell you.  And for me, if the story interests me, I will add it with the pic I took, as a keepsake of my adventure.  And what a unique keepsake it is.

*Make your hobby a part of your adventure-

If you don’t know me, I am sure by now, you realize that photography is my number 1 hobby, a hobby that I completely just love.  And I love how it goes hand in hand with traveling so perfectly.  If photography isn’t your thing, see if somehow your hobby will fit into traveling like if you paint, paint at each spot you travel too.  I am sure, if you really think about it, your hobby can somehow fit into your travels, your adventures.

*Have a low to no $ budget-

Make the point of your trip about experiencing the world around you, not spending your money.  If you want bring a little something for lunch but nothing more.  I try to pack my own snacks & lunches, that way the $ I bring with me is for gas.  But don’t get me wrong, occasionally, I do treat myself to lunch.  And if I come across something I really want or need, I will go home empty handed.  If it is really that important for me to have, then I will have to pay for gas to get out there again.  Usually, it isn’t worth another trip out.

I hope these tips are helpful in encouraging you to start having your own adventures.  What was an adventure you took that was not only frugal & fun but rewarding as well?  Any other tips you would add to my list above?  Love to hear your thoughts on this 🙂

 

linked up with:

YesWFMWStrangers and Pilgrims on Earth

Leave a Reply

