Preparing Me For Motherhood

The 1st 25 yrs of my life wasn’t the best or the easiest.  In fact, my childhood was harder than most, filled with one uphill battle after another.  I never knew why I had the life I did, growing up without a mother & then having a mother with a mental illness was among the numerous things that was thrown at me.  I prayed over and over again for an easier life or just to have someone in my life who loved me.  What I didn’t realize that all my struggles, my battles, my hardships were preparing me for what motherhood had in store for me.  Have you heard the old saying:

I always wondered, why was I given so much to handle?  Why must everything be so hard & such a struggle for me?   Looking back I am thankful for all that I have been through because without losing my mother at such a young age I wouldn’t be the mom I am today & without dealing with my mother’s mental illness I wouldn’t be able to help & advocate for my oldest son who is currently struggling with his mental illness.  I’m thankful that I have experience with mental illness & that I am able to help my son as much as I can.  And I am thankful, that I can understand the mental illness world, that I am not new to this.  Who knew motherhood would be this hard?

3 thoughts on “Preparing Me For Motherhood

  1. Motherhood really is the toughest job you’ll ever have and that’s partly because it never ends! The other is that you are so emotionally tied to it and it ends up being such a huge part of who you are- not just while you are parenting but in the other ‘non’ mom parts of your life.

    I do believe that everything happens for a reason.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

