Freezing To Save Money: My List So Far

Below is the beginning of my freezer list, which I am hoping others join in and add whatever they freeze to make a larger list, which could save us all some money.  I love our freezer and am so thankful my father gave us his old freezer, not only to stock up on deals, which does save us money, but it also helps us store food for our reptile farm (which I will be introducing you to soon.)  My list below is in the beginning stage, please add as many things as you can to my list.  Thanks 🙂

Taken from http://theladyprefers2save.com/?cat=150&paged=3 & One Good Thing by Jillee
1) Cheese: Freeze blocks of cheese for up to a year; shredded cheese works well also, and you can prevent clumping by adding a dash of corn starch prior to freezing! Remember to let cheese thaw on counters before refrigerating, after freeing!

2) Pancakes: I make large batches bi-monthly and freeze servings in snack baggies, as needed.

3) Bananas: I freeze banana, peeling on, and use for smoothies and bread; to use, microwave for 30 second, cut the peel tops, and squeeze out!

4)Rice: I cook monthly batches of rice in my rice cooker, and then freeze for quick night sides.

5) Pies: I always bake pies in multiples, then freeze covered in wax paper, then bagged in large gallon ziploc; these last up to a year.

6) Corn: I freeze corn, husks and silk intact. in gallon ziploc, and then pull out to grill when needed; fresh corn in the winter is amazing this way, when paired with 4/$1.00 summer pricing! Be sure to compost scraps!

7) Pasta: Whenever I cook pasta, I usually cook the entire box and then freeze portions as needed for nightly meals.

8) Flour: I store my flour, double bagged, in my freezer to prevent infestations in summer.

9) Mashed Potatoes: I always freeze unused mashed potato portions, in smaller snack bags, up up to two months in my freezer!

10) Stock: I always boil and use leftover bones to make stock. Once stock is made, let completely cool, strain, and then place in ice trays to freeze; I like to add herbs to mine and seasoning as well. To store, pop the cubes in snack baggies for up to a year!

11) Uncrustables: I make my own uncrustables by using biscuit cutters to cut sandwiches, crimp the edges with a fork, and freeze in lunch bags up to a year; I save $42.00 annually by doing so.

12) Potato Chips, Crackers and Pretzels: I keep my snacks in smaller bags, frozen for up to a year, and thaw for one hour before serving.

13) Milk: I buy milk on sale and freeze for up to a season; also note you should shake up milk before drinking after freezing!

14) Eggs: When eggs drop in price to $0.99 a dozen at Walgreens, I stock-up, crack eggs, and put portions in snack bags to freeze for recipes down the road!

15) Lemon/Lime Juice and Zest: I often freeze lemon juice from my potted citrus trees, in ice trays, then transport cubes to snack baggies for up to a year; as well as freeze the zest for homemade potpourri in winter!

16) Hamburger: I often cook extra ground beef and turkey, they freeze the extra seasoned amounts in snack baggies for recipes, especially in the crockpot for later on!

What are some things you freeze that you can add to the list?  Anything that doesn’t freeze well you learned the hard way?

18 thoughts on “Freezing To Save Money: My List So Far

    • Flour & bananas are great things to freeze. For me, I began freezing things slowly, like when food is about to expire or needs to be used up. Then I kept searching online to see if the certain item can be frozen, cause some things can’t.

      Like

    • Thanks for visiting 🙂
      Yes, cheese freezes great, but not for an extended period of time, or at least it hasn’t for me. I always freeze cheese ends and then use them in numerous things like sauces.

      Like

  1. This year I am making my own spaghetti sauce from the tomatoes we are planning to grow. Since scanning tomato products is a bit trickier for a beginner, I am going to throw them in my freezer. You can also put chopped fresh herbs in oil and freeze those in ice cube trays to use later.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Last year, I had a ton of tomatoes and wanted to make a huge batch of spaghetti sauce. I had the hardest time finding a recipe that I liked using fresh tomatoes, it was mostly canned tomatoes. I did eventually find a recipe that I catered to my liking. I agree tomatoes are trickier to can if you are a beginner. I haven’t tried canning tomatoes or any veggies yet. I have had great success with fruits and making jam & jellies. This year, I want to dive in more with canning and dehydrating foods to help save my family money.

      Like

Leave a Reply

