Mindfulness

155

Mindfulness is a term I came across when I started my journey of living a simpler life.  Mindfulness pretty much is to Live in the now, live in the moment.  But a better description is:  “Mindfulness is the practice of becoming more fully aware of the present moment–non-judgmentally and completely–rather than dwelling in the past or projecting into the future. It generally involves a heightened awareness of sensory stimuli (really noticing your breathing, feeling the sensations of your body, etc.) and being “in the now.” While mindfulness has origins in Eastern philosophy and Buddhism, there is no necessary religious component to mindfulness — anyone, with any belief system, can enjoy the benefits of mindfulness,”  taken from About Health

Once, I began researching mindfulness, so I made sure I understood what it means, I started incorporating it, into my daily life.  Some of the ways I am more mindful are:
*take mini breaks throughout the day when my stress level is getting high, before I explode
*I am more aware of my feelings
*give more individual attention to my 5 kids throughout the day, even if its only a short period of time
*connect daily with my husband

Being more mindful in my daily life, has helped me greatly.  Right away, I noticed a change, a positive change.  For example, I no longer hold my feelings in and explode every so often.  Instead, I give myself permission to feel a certain way & to know it is perfectly ok to feel this way.   Some of the other benefits of mindfulness that I’ve read about are:
*healthy & mental health issues like anxiety, depression, insomnia, & eating disorders to name a few
*can reduce pain
*improves cognition & attention
*relationships problems
*self esteem
*contentment
*stress

Do you practice mindfulness throughout your daily life in the simplest form or is meditation the way you practice mindfulness?  Or both?  Any tips, advice, or comments about this, leave below.  I would love to hear what you think about this topic.

For more information about click on the links below.
*Psych Alive
*Benefits of Mindfulness

 

6 thoughts on “Mindfulness

  1. Pingback: Letting Go Of The “What Ifs” That’s Cluttering Your Life | Living Intentionally Simple

Leave a Reply

