Hobbies: Finding The Right Fit

Hobbies are great for your mental health.  With that being said, I believe they are only great for you, if you find the right one.  Otherwise, it can cause unnecessary stress.  For example……..

I am a crafty a little, nothing like you see on those amazing blogs where everything is perfect. Nope, can’t do it, so I gave up on trying years ago.  But the time that I did try, the stress that came from not accomplishing what I planned to accomplish was overwhelming.  I couldn’t understand why my stuff never came out the way it should have, the way the pics on that certain blog did, even when I follow the directions perfectly step by step.  Am I alone here or do you suffer from the same problem?
Eventually, I gave up and realized that crafting wasn’t the hobby for me, it wasn’t the right fit.  Having a hobby should be enjoyable, fun, something you look forwards to, especially if you spend money on it.  I have always loved photography, but really decided right then and there, as I was looking at yet another craft fail, that photography is where I should concentrate my energies on.  And that’s what I did.  From there, my hobby took me to unexpected waters.
Because of my photography, I started my 1st blog Ever Changing.  My blogs intention was to have a place to store my images.  But it has turned into much more.  Because of it, I have met some really great like minded people, I am able to share my photography with others who are interested in it as well as view theirs, I have grown as a person, & I found my love for writing (which is my 2nd hobby).  My photography journey so far, has brought me a lot of joy, smiles, & fun which is what your hobby is supposed to do.  That’s how I knew that these two hobbies of mine are exactly where I should be focusing my energies on.  Who can’t use a little more joy in their everyday?
Below are a few of my all time favorite images to date:
44
38.3
6
138

113.1
1
blooming
2013-02-05 15.54.38
What is your hobby/hobbies?  What do you enjoy about it?  Has it brought you down an unexpected path?

 

linked with:
Inspire Me MondayMotivation Monday Linky Party Sunday 6:30 pm at www.alifeinbalance.net

One thought on “Hobbies: Finding The Right Fit

Leave a Reply

