Frugal Decorating: Above The Kitchen Cabinets

_RYA0023 (2)

For the last four years that I’ve lived in my home, the one space that I never decorated was above my kitchen cabinets.  I don’t know why, I just never did.  Then last week, it dawned on me, that if I dressed this unused space up, it would make my house feel homier.  For the past week, I have been brainstorming different ideas and last night, I was finally able to put my masterpiece together, making this my new favorite room.
You don’t need to spend a fortune to make your house cozy.  With the right pieces, you can make a huge impact with little money in any room of your house.  It just depends on what you’ve got to work with.  Today, I am sharing with you my $30 above the cabinets makeover, which I’m super excited about.  Because not only do I love all the pieces together, but it really adds so much to my beloved kitchen.

I started with the space looking like this:
_RYA0017 (2) _RYA0018 (2)
As you can tell, I have really neglected this space, never thinking about decorating it.  Even when I went into other people’s homes, it never clicked for me to do something with it.  Here’s the breakdown of what I used & bought, just in case you wanted to any ideas to help decorate a space in your home.

The breakdown:
_RYA0024 (2)_RYA0025 (2)
**D
ecorating tip: When decorating areas higher than your head, you need to have decor of all different sizes, some on the wall, leaning on others, or propped up with display racks.  This creates depth, which in turn makes the area look well put together.**

 

And what it looks like all together:
_RYA0023 (2)

I love how I used the space, the things I put in the space, & how it adds to my kitchen.  I still have a few things I wanted to get but for now, I am happy with a little bit of money, I was able to achieve the look I wanted.  What do you think?  Do you have a frugal decorating project you did, that you really love?  Be sure to swing by tomorrow for when I will share my frugal gallery photo wall. 

Linked with:Ducks 'n a Row1Banner Between Intro Post and LinkyThursday Favorite Things ButtonFriendship Friday

5 thoughts on “Frugal Decorating: Above The Kitchen Cabinets

  1. oh nice. I wouldnt ever think to decorate above the cabinets, mostly because I dont ever look there. But you did a fantastic job. Thank you for tossing your hat into the ring at the Party Under The Big Top! I hope to see you again next week!
    #BigTopBlogParty

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Unfortunately I own an older home and I do not have space above my cabinets but I absolutely LOVE what you have done with your above the cabinet space! We plan to re-model the kitchen and will keep this blog post in mind for when I DO have all of that space to decorate!

    I’m so thrilled that you stopped by the #BigTopBlogParty this week and want to thank you for linking up with us as well! I sure hope you’ll stop by again for the next Party Under the Big Top… As a reminder, we go LIVE every Tuesday morning at 12:00 a.m. EST!

    Wishing you a fabulous weekend!

    Much love,

    Lysa xx
    Welcome to My Circus

    Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome and thank you for the compliment! It is my pleasure to host the linky every week! See you Tuesday! Wishing you a lovely evening!

        Much love,

        Lysa xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

