Spring Cleaning

007 (2)
Every year around this time, I start spring cleaning, which usually entails me doing a deep cleaning of the house.  This year I started much earlier since I’ve decided to not just look at our clutter we accumulated but other things as well.  When we do a deep cleaning, so often people are only concerned with their material possessions but we need to look at everything from possessions to self talk to people in our lives to our work to our electronics etc.  Each area needs a good cleaning every now.  It helps us to figure out what we still need as well as what no longer serves a purpose in our lives.  As we grow, things change, & what we once needed may be something we no longer do.  That’s how life goes.  We need to be able to recognize this, handle it, & move on.
The first thing I did was start a list with the different areas that I wanted to clean up.  Everyone’s list will look different but the areas I;m concentrating on are: mental/physical/spiritual health & well being, self talk, volunteering & giving back to others, parenting & relationships, digital, & material possessions.  I wanted to use these topics as stepping stones to dig deeper and see what’s working & what I need to improve on.  I’m making sure each area has no more than 5 or 6 items in.  There’s no need to add more otherwise it would defeat my purpose of simple living. To get an idea, here are a few things I’m working on:
*work on my relationship with the lord
*take note of my self talk & which is a reflection of how I view myself
*utilize my online time so I can make the most of my time
*evaluate people in my life & make sure everyone contributes more happiness than negativity to my life
*compare my health progress with my long term goals: see what has worked & what I need to work on
*review my year’s goals & check how far I’ve come…….see my progress & know where I need to put more effort in
*write a plan for things I would like to fix up around the house from small to large & work on something once a wk
*make an effort to get rid of 20 items a week that we no longer need, use, or want….donate it unless I know I can sell it with minimal hassle
What areas are you working on?

 

Linked with:
Inspire Me Mondaymotivation-monday-6 hostsDarling Downs Diaries

3 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning

  1. Liked your goal of getting rid of 20 things you don’t need. Life is easier when their is less clutter. This lets us enjoy the useful items that enrich our lives with function or beauty. I am going to try to clean and sort through my stuff this Spring. I like to donate items that I think will benefit people before throwing them up. I am also trying to be better and counting my blessings more consistently on my Sharing Thanks blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like you got a great plan for spring cleaning. I couldn’t agree with you more, we all should count our blessings often. To often, I feel people forget about this. The 20 item rule has helped me get rid of little clutter that i otherwise wouldn’t have. And now I do it out of habit. Thanks for visiting 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

