Bartering

The Basics of Bartering

Bartering is the exchange of services or goods to get other desired service or goods.  Bartering can be as simple or complex as you make it, it all depends on what your looking for in exchange of what you have to offer.  It comes in many forms from a child exchanging toys with a friends, or a teenager switching clothes with her friends, or as adult exchanging your crafting specialty with another craftsman.
Now before you say anything, everyone has something they can barter.  Don’t ever think, I have nothing of use or of interest that others would barter for.  Everyone has something that can do.  Looking to barter, here are a few ideas t get you started:
*selling at your wares at farmer’s markets or craft fairs, a lot of other vendors will exchange your goods for theirs.  I loved doing this because I always came home with unique homemade items that I normally wouldn’t have gotten.

*join a bartering club where people post what they are looking for and what they have to offer.

*childcare between a few friends

*housework or handiwork (fixing things around the house)

*fixing cars

*gardening or exchanging your produce or extra flowers you won’t use

*give rides

*online help like designing websites fixing problems etc.

I love to barter, but due to past experiences, I usually only do it for people I really know.  Sadly, others have taken advantage of my hospitality by not honoring the exchange system.  But when done successfully, bartering can offer a great way to get free services & goods, to give back to others, & save money.
For more information about bartering here’s a few useful articles:
The Basics of Bartering
But I Have Nothing To Barter
5 Ideas For A Community Barter System
Do you barter regularly?  If no, what are some things you could barter?  


Today marks the 2nd day of a month-long challenge that I’m taking part in called Blogging A to Z.  If you’re looking me up on the list, I am #1100.  My theme for this month is simple living.  Are you doing the challenge?  Leave me a comment so I can follow along.  Feel free to share with me any ideas, thoughts, or topics of interest you would like me to cover. Join me each day for my Living Intentionally Simple A to Z.  

4 thoughts on “Bartering

  1. I selected a focus word to concentrate on in 2015: simplify. Now, I found your blog and I look forward to following. (I, too, am doing the A to Z Challenge.)

    Like

    • That’s a great word to focus on. For my word I picked Inner because I have a lot of work to do with myself. Plus this was the 1st year that no kids were at home with me in 15 years. I am happy you found your way to my blog…….Welcome. I’m always glad to meet new like minded people 🙂

      Like

  2. I recently traded a bag of Shakeology (i’m a beachbody coach) for a new blog design! It was awesome and I don’t think I would have otherwise paid someone for a design. It worked out perfectly 🙂

    Like

    • That’s awesome! I never thought about trading something for a web design. You never know the opportunities that can come because of bartering. Thanks for sharing and visiting 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

