Cultivate Simple

In our non-stop world, we as a society encourage busyness.  All too often people associate busyness with success, but for me that is no longer the case.  Why is someone considered success because they can use up their days, always on the go, not having time to enjoy the simple moments?  They truly miss out on those special moments, those moments we didn’t see coming, but cherish them for years to come.
215
What and how we plan our days, is all up to us.  You want to be busy, then be busy.  But if you long for something more like bringing more joy into your days, or appreciating where you are in life, then slow down and cultivate the simple.  Here’s some ideas to get you started slowing down:

* go walking with friends
* going outside
* turn it off….phone, TV, computer
* during the summer sitting outside at night listening to the world around me
* having nothing planned days to do with however I choose
* waking up earlier than the kids to get some quiet time in
* working on my hobbies or something I enjoy doing
* writing or journalist to help sort through my thoughts & clear my mind
* getting rid of clutter
* short to do list
* stop over booking myself or my family
* learned to say no without feeling guilty

How do you cultivate simple?


Today marks the 3rd day of a month-long challenge that I’m taking part in called Blogging A to Z.  If you’re looking me up on the list, I am #1100.  My theme for this month is simple living.  Are you doing the challenge?  Leave me a comment so I can follow along.  Feel free to share with me any ideas, thoughts, or topics of interest you would like me to cover.  Join me each day for my Living Intentionally Simple A to Z.  

 

 

linked to:
Friendship Friday

6 thoughts on “Cultivate Simple

  1. I like the “turn off technology” point. I try my best to be intentional about cell phone usage around family and friends… phones are good but they can be a problem if they interfere with real life. Best of luck with the A to Z Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is hard to turn things off. But I try to do so for a certain amount of time or turn it off earlier. Yes, the convenience of our phones has made it harder to turn off and unplug from the world. But some days, I don’t do as well as I would like. It’s an ongoing goal of mine. Thank you 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

