Do It Yourself (DIY)

203

For me, doing it yourself is essential because it goes hand in hand with my ultimate goal of living simple.  Not only do I like learning new things, working with my hands, & acquiring new skills but it saves me money, it presents me with a teaching opportunity with my children, helps me think outside the box, makes me appreciate things more, my creative juices are always flowing, & it gives me a sense of pride when a job, craft, or task is done well.
46
When starting your diy journey, I have a few tips for you:
1. don’t go out and buy everything without researching costs & alternative costs, use coupons, look for sales, look on craigslist in the free category etc.

2. once you find a project or two or ten you like, have one or two going on at a time and actually complete them before you move on to another.  I have really bad adhd and have had so many going on at once, nothing ever got done.  So I had to go back through and start completing old projects before I moved on to new ones.

 

3. Never pay full price for materials unless you are in a bind.  Always look for sales, coupons, & free sections.  Or looking for a certain material hit up freecycle before you buy it.

2014-11-15 10.59.20

daughter’s bday cake last year I did for her

We are lucky to be living in the digital age because there is so much inspiration everywhere around us.  For me, sometimes there can be an over abundance of inspiration, it can be overwhelming and hinder my creativeness.  I only Pinterest for inspiration and blogs that I have email subscriptions to which is somewhere are 100 blogs.  I know that sounds like a lot but it isn’t really.  Over time, if there is something of interest for me, I sign up through email so I don’t miss anything.  Check out my Pinterest page if you are looking for some new ideas.
Whether you are doing it for fun or trying to save money, doing things yourself is a great way to start living simpler.  Start looking around and see what peaks your interest and go from there.  Whether it’s making your own cleaning products or making a new wall piece, or learning how to crochet it doesn’t matter.   Just start with something small, rather than a big costly project.  So go out and get those creative juices flowing.  You’ll be amazed at yourself and your talents if you give yourself a chance.

Want a peak into my world, here’s a few projects I’m currently working on:
*make a photo clothesline holder out of an old frame for my empty kitchen wall
*3 photo ledges (1st time I’m doing the entire project, power tools & all.)
*milk bottle wall vases
*learning how to crochet……..i’m determined to teach myself even if it kills me

Any fun diy projects you’ve been working on or plan to do?


Today marks the 4th day of a month-long challenge that I’m taking part in called Blogging A to Z.  If you’re looking me up on the list, I am #1100.  My theme for this month is simple living.  Are you doing the challenge?  Leave me a comment so I can follow along.  Feel free to share with me any ideas, thoughts, or topics of interest you would like me to cover.  Join me each day for my Living Intentionally Simple A to Z.  

Linked with:
Inspire Me MondayA Fresh Start

4 thoughts on “Do It Yourself (DIY)

  1. I wish you luck in learning to crochet. I dabble at lots of arts & crafts. A tip I have to try new things with little to no cost is through your library. Our local library holds regular craft classes (for free), mainly for teens or younger kids. Sometimes for adults though, too. I have taken free (including materials) classes at our library to learn smocking and rug hooking.

    Like

  2. I am very much a DIYer! You bring up a very important point- seeing your project through to completion. I have way too many unfinished projects. I used to do all my kids’ parties myself.

    My latest project, which I just loved, was making a taggie blanket for my grandson.

    Like

Leave a Reply

