Eliminating The Unnecessary

_RYA0064

When you think of eliminating, the 1st thing that probably comes to mind is getting rid of your possessions, decluttering your house.  But eliminating is more than purging yourself of things you have acquired, it’s looking at your life as a whole and figuring out which pieces fit and which don’t.  Life changes, and with the changes we need to take a step back and ask ourselves some important questions:
* What adds value & meaning to your life right now?  Stay in the present
* What isn’t working for us & the reason why?
* What isn’t necessary….what is taking up valuable space that you can replace with something more meaningful or things that add value?
* What causes you more stress & pain?  Can you replace it with things that bring you joy & happiness?
For me I wrote it all down, since I’m a visual person.  Then began to see a theme of doing things that I didn’t look forwards to, that was draining me which in turn didn’t leave much for the people I love.  So, one thing I worked on was slowing down, in order to give the better me to my family not the tired me.  They are the most important people in my life and I needed to show them this.
Once you ask yourself and find your answers, then you can start eliminating  possessions, activities, work, relationships etc. that doesn’t work.  Life changes quickly , which is why we need to stop and spring clean our lives every so often, in order to keep the things important to us close.  All too often, life can get in the way, blocks us from the things we want to do, and before we know it, it’s too late.

via pure happy life


Today marks the 4th day of a month-long challenge that I’m taking part in called Blogging A to Z.  If you’re looking me up on the list, I am #1100.  My theme for this month is simple living.  Are you doing the challenge?  Leave me a comment so I can follow along.  Feel free to share with me any ideas, thoughts, or topics of interest you would like me to cover.  Join me each day for my Living Intentionally Simple A to Z.  

Linked with:
Inspire Me MondayA Fresh StartWelcome To My Circus

11 thoughts on “Eliminating The Unnecessary

  1. This is true. And the very reason I stopped writing about fashion, even though it was the center of my life my whole career, but life does change and our interest responds with these life changes. I lost interest a year after I left the industry. I tried to keep it alive because it was a comfort zone, but finally released it.IMG_8555
    Next week is my older sister Cynthia’s birthday. She was my first friend, my first confidante and my first co-conspirator. She loved tennis and french, classical music and fashion. She was the best big sister. She watched out for me and was always there for me especially when I went through my “wild” stage. She never judged and has unfailingly given me the best advice she could our whole lives together. We share the early years in Puerto Rico before Tommy and Pamela were born. We shared Crayola crayons while coloring and spent hours playing “little dolls”. While in college the clouds of cigarette smoke billowing out of her bedroom were epic during our late night girl-talkathons.

    IMG_8570_2_1024

    Here she is circa 1974 after a tennis match and cooling dip in the pool. Slender, feminine and a helluva flirt she drove her college beaus mad. Today we both have a passion for books and the sophisticated appointment of rooms. Pearls thrill us beyond measure. And she has a thing for lemon cakes (but she calls them “lemon kuchens”). “Kuchen” being cake in German. Every single time she comes home to Fort Lauderdale, which is three or four times a year, she’ll ask me, “How ’bout that lemon kuchen? and I always answer, “What about it?”. I answer that way because I once baked her a lemon pound cake, from scratch, and ultimately she never had any because she never made time during that trip to come over to my house. So no more lemon kuchen! Until now. I’ve been on a pound cake kick, not surprising when you see my girth. I’m certain I’ve gained at least 4 pounds since I started on this mission. I craved… no, lusted after a dense, lemony-bright, tart and rich pound cake topped with a crown of smooth, creamy citrus icing. As you can well imagine the development process has been a short visit to Dante’s fifth hell. Not. Also, here in South Florida, it’s key lime season and I would venture to say that here in this tropical end of the state, key lime cake comes in close right after key lime pie in popularity.

    Creamy yellow is the shade you want in a key lime. In this case big is better. Look for limes the size of ping-pong balls.
    Creamy yellow is the shade you want in a key lime. In this case big is better. Look for limes the size of ping-pong balls.

    I was lucky enough to have a plethora of key limes given to me and have juiced and zested my fingers down to the bone. Consequently long after the season is over I will have juice and zest safely tucked away in my freezer portioned out and labeled rendering me capable of baking great quantities of my new favorite pound cake. This cake bakes up beautifully. It would make an exquisite wedding cake, the icing decorated with the dramatic “pop” of fresh blackberries or raspberries. On the other end of the “pretty” spectrum around the “practical” end James mentioned to me in passing me that for the past several days he has had a thick wedge for breakfast. I’m telling you people, you cannot stay away from this cake. It’ll sing out to you from the next room. It’s the devil. And if loving it is wrong, I don’t want to be right! Yes, the cake is sweet, however the substantial addition of lime zest propels it to a new world of citrus wonder. The crumb is heavy and dense, incredibly moist while at the same time smooth and somehow almost weightless. The icing is a recipe in richness. The cream cheese works in tandem with the lemon to make a “dolce-crostata”, or sweet-tart heaven in your mouth. That being the case I look forward to having a key lime kuchen baked the next time Cynthia comes down for all of us to delight in and savor. Happy, happy birthday, sweet sister.

    I participated in a one day travel writing class downtown and took these slices to suck up. It worked. It’s the miracle cake!

    Key Lime Pound Cake with Key Lime Cream Cheese Icing

    4 sticks butter, that’s 1 pound, room temperature
    3 cups sugar
    6 large eggs, room temperature
    4 cups all-purpose flour
    1/2 cup fresh key lime juice
    1/4 cup evaporated milk, (I always keep a good number of those small, 5 ounce cans in my pantry.)
    4 teaspoons key lime zest, minced
    1 teaspoon vanilla
    Preheat oven to 300°. Cover inside of 10 inch tube pan with non-stick spray. My pan is 10 1/2″ and it’s just fine. Set aside.
    Using a stand-up mixer or electric hand-held, beat the butter well until light in color and fluffy. Add the sugar and again beat well for at least 5 minutes. I use a stand up mixer and beat the mixture 10-15 minutes. I don’t like a “grainy” cake.
    One at a time add the eggs and beat only until the yellow disappears.
    Stir juice, milk, zest and vanilla together.
    Now mixing by hand, gradually flour to the butter-egg mixture alternating with the key lime juice and milk mixture. Begin and end with flour. Mix well but just enough to incorporate all ingredients. You don’t want a tough pound cake!
    Pour evenly into the tube pan and tap pan on the counter to loosen any air bubbles.
    Bake for 1 hour and 45 minutes or until cake tester comes out clean.
    Cool on a cooling rack for 15-20 minutes in the pan then transfer from pan to cooling rack and allow to cool another hour or until completely cool.
    The cake is far better the following day or 2 days later.

    Key Lime Cream Cheese Icing

    8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
    3-4 tablespoons butter, room temperature
    4 cups confectioner’s sugar
    1/4 cup freshly squeezed key lime juice
    2-3 teaspoons key lime zest
    1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    Using a hand mixer beat cream cheese and butter in a large bowl until well mixed.
    Add confectioner’s sugar and beat well until completely smooth and fluffy.
    Add key lime juice, zest and vanilla and mix until all ingredients are incorporated.
    Ice cake.
    This makes quite a bit of icing. After icing the entire pound cake I fill the middle hole with the excess icing. When the cake is served icing can be taken from the middle and dolloped along the side the slice of cake.

    U didn’t leave ur card so u need to get stamps

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very well written post. We have to ask ourselves sometimes what it is that is cluttering our minds. I used to work with a lot of negative people. I had to grin and bear it each day, but since I retired I am careful about who I allow into my life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A very thought provoking post. Thank you for sharing it! I go through phases where I think I can do it all: keep up with my blog, do the craftng I enjoy, cook, clean the house, and be a complete and total super mom! Then I have phases where all I want to do is sit on the couch each day and binge watch shows on Hulu and Netflix.The key for me has been to try and find balance.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

