Giving Back

“Never underestimate the power of giving back.”
The simplest gesture, the smallest hand, the kindest smile can make a huge impact in someone’s life.  This impact has a ripple effect and affects all involved, not just a single person.
Quotes About Giving Giving back picture quote
For me, giving back is an important part of my life.  I volunteer for numerous things like being on the board of our PTO (I’m currently the VP), to starting a fundraising committee in our local elementary school, to joining a group that is looking to bring.  I am constantly putting myself out there, even when I am uncomfortable and don’t want to.  I don’t stay in the sidelines where it is safe.  Because of this, I have reaped such benefits as pride, joy, & happiness.  I have also had a few extra perks, which I never thought of before.  Some of them are:
1. meeting new local kids,
2. spending time with children & their friends
3.getting to know my children’s friends
4. meet other like minded parents
5. get out & be social on my own terms (believe it or not, I very anti-social which is something I’m working on)
6. put my spin on things, a piece of me in everything I do
7. sharing my strengths with others
8. having pride in myself for a job well done
Right now, I have children in all 3 of our schools, so for me giving back is more concentrated in the schools.  But 10 years from now, it will be completely different. No matter what it looks like, no matter how small, you should give back to others when you can, because when you needed it, there were people there for you.  I remember during my worst time, being homeless living in a shelter with 3 kids, there was a woman who helped me find myself, which in turn helped me save myself.  If it wasn’t for her caring loving hand offering support, I may not be where I am today. If there is one person in my lifetime that I can help like I received, then it would have all been worth while.
How do you give back?  How has it changed over the years?

 


Today marks the 7th day of a month-long challenge that I’m taking part in called Blogging A to Z.  If you’re looking me up on the list, I am #1100.  My theme for this month is simple living.  Are you doing the challenge?  Leave me a comment so I can follow along.  Feel free to share with me any ideas, thoughts, or topics of interest you would like me to cover.  Join me each day for my Living Intentionally Simple A to Z.

Linked with:
Friendship Friday

4 thoughts on “Giving Back

  1. What a beautiful post and a good reminder to leave our comfort zones and help others. I love giving back as it feels so rewarding for me. Almost like getting a massage but for the heart or soul. Thanks for sharing what it means to you. Cheryl

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful post at Friendship Friday at Create With Joy – I love that quote!

    Giving back is SO important. We never know how even the smallest things can impact someone’s life in a huge way!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

