Keeping Up

Thirty years ago, “Keeping up with the Joneses” was a society norm that far too many people strive to achieve.  Growing up in that kind of environment, it was only natural for me to put material possessions at the top in my list of priorities.  I lived like this for a long time, till I realized just how destructive this type of lifestyle was for my family and I.  I was living beyond my means, adding extra unnecessary stress, & putting myself into further debit.  Instead of being the example & model for my children to follow, I was the example of what not to do.  I was often worried my children would follow in my footsteps which would only hinder them.

Luckily for me, I was able to wake up and change the way I live my life.  And in doing so, I changed and became the model that I should be for my children.  I showed my children that success isn’t measured by what we can buy or charge.  Success, is all about learning, teaching, & experiencing life with your loved ones through different avenues.
For me, living within my means, not paycheck to paycheck changed my life by giving me more.   I’ve stopped keeping up with the Joneses.  And I couldn’t be happier in doing so.


Today marks the 11th day of a month-long challenge that I’m taking part in called Blogging A to Z.  If you’re looking me up on the list, I am #1100.  My theme for this month is simple living.  Are you doing the challenge?  Leave me a comment so I can follow along.  Feel free to share with me any ideas, thoughts, or topics of interest you would like me to cover.  Join me each day for my Living Intentionally Simple A to Z.

Sharing with:
Friendship Friday
A Peek Into Paradise

6 thoughts on “Keeping Up

  1. Great post! When we can learn to be content with what we have, living simply becomes much easier. We live in a 34 foot travel trailer right now. So much less expensive than traditional housing and we still have everything we need. Living in that small space means we have to be really choosy about what we bring into it, which forces us to live simpler. It has been eye-opening!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much.
      Wow, you are living in a 34 foot trailer. That’s fantastic! It does open your eyes when you can’t bring everything with you and you realize just how little you really need each day. Is there anything you found hard about living in the trailer? What’s has been your favorite thing about living in a small space?

      Like

      • The hardest thing has actually been the opposite of what I envisioned before we moved in – and that is the cleaning. I thought it would be so simple to clean because it is such a small space but it turns out that it just gets messy really, really quickly and I find myself constantly having to be on top of cleaning or it will quickly look like a pigsty. My favorite thing is definitely how close we are as a family. We are forced to interact. We can’t run to opposite ends of the house and watch TV or ignore each other. We have had some great conversations and memories because of that!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

