Has Facebook Helped Bring Traffic To Your Blog?

I was asked the other day if I had a Facebook page for this blog, which I don’t.  So that got me wondering, if I should put the time in on Facebook to attract new readers.  My question to you is this: Do you have a Facebook page for your blog?  If so, has it helped increase your traffic?  Is it hard to get people to your Facebook page?  If you don’t have one, why not?  If you could take a moment to answer these questions for me I would greatly appreciate it.  Thank you in advance.
**Feel free to share you Facebook link in the comments, so we can follow one another.**

12 thoughts on “Has Facebook Helped Bring Traffic To Your Blog?

  1. I find that every additional social media is hours of extra work. I’ve decided to start with Instagram and perfect it before adding anything else. I use my personal facebook to get readers by sharing my new posts, but I don’t have a separate facebook page simply because I want to devote my time to writing, not promoting. Maybe someday when I have more time I’ll get into it.

    Like

    • I feel the same way. I’ve been concentrating on my writing but wondered about Facebook.
      You make a good point about social media, it is a time sucking adventure. I’ve done good and feel that I’ve got the hang of google+ with spending hardly any time on it. But my instagram is another story. Hash tags took me forever to understand. If u got any tips with about instagram plz send it my way. As it’s taken me months to get 24 followers lol.

      Like

  2. i am a technological spaz so I haven’t done anything other than share my posts on my personal Facebook. I, like Emily, do not have a separate Facebook page. I am interested in getting into Instagram however.

    Like

  3. I have set up a twitter account and have noticed that I am getting quite a few followers on it, but don’t quite understand it yet. As far as facebook concerned I have a facebook account that I use strictly on a personal basis with family and very close friends. It is a way to share our lives while living miles apart. But I really don’t want my posts to appear on facebook and have actually thought about creating another facebook account just for my blog, but don’t know If I am allowed to do that.

    Like

    • I’m still trying to figure Twitter out myself. I have Google+ and Pinterest all set, figuring it out enough for me. But Twitter and Instagram still plague me. LOL.
      I have a personal FB but I hardly ever use it because there is just so much drama all over it and that bothers me. FB also makes me sad for some reason, so I don’t like being on there. Why do something that adds saddness and stress? So, I only add pics here and there on it, with an occasional thought. But since starting up my blogs, I use FB less and less.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I think it depends on your endgame and what you’re willing to invest in time and effort to get there. If you are going to convert this to a business at some point, then you want as many targeted visitors as possible. Then you have to start thinking about things like a conversion funnel, etc, etc, etc.
    If you do this for a hobby, then decide what your endgame is for that. If you like to use number of followers as a metric or a form of score keeping then FB might be good. Twitter tends to bring in a lot of followers who are only after a “follow back” and won’t really monitor your tweets or read your posts (that’s why I say “targeted” followers.)
    Anyway, as Stephen Covey would say, “Begin with the end in mind.” Whether you have a FB page or not depends on where you are trying to end up.
    My 2cents.
    …remember to have some fun today!
    Archie
    http://www.DirtyRedHat.com
    @DirtyRed Hat (on twitter)

    Like

    • That’s a fantastic point Archie. I do my blog right now as a hobby, something for myself that I really enjoy. There isn’t any business plan in mind at this point. I don’t look a whole lot at my stats because I don’t do this for anyone other than myself. But don’t get me wrong, I love connecting & meeting others through my blog. I joke around with my friends telling them blogging is just like Facebook but without the drama.
      Thanks for your great advice and I will keep my end game in mind.

      Like

Leave a Reply

