Quieting The Mind

via Wallums

Everyday, we have so much on our plate, the noise can be overwhelming.  Even as I learn to simplify, stresses from my everyday pile up, and in turn have a negative effect in my life.  In the mixture of our daily chaos, , taking time & learning how to quiet our mind, is an extremely helpful tool, especially for someone like me who has a million thoughts going at once.
I remember not to long ago, how I couldn’t sleep because I could stop my thoughts in my head, it was non-stop.  Yes, I could have taken medicine for my ADHD, but I didn’t want to go that route, so I suffered.  Lack of sleep not only ruins your days, but it affects so many other things in your life.  The negative effects seeps into everything.  The state of my mental health kept deteriorating, so I started looking into ways to quiet my mind.  I found the best thing for me was to put time aside each day, to do things that reduce stress, ease my mind, & Nowadays, I take time out as I need, usually 20 mins a day (if not more, but no less) as well as I take melatonin to sleep.  The combo has made a huge impact for me.  Do you need help figuring out where to start with quieting your mind?  Here are a few suggestions:
*meditation

*disconnect each day………even if it’s 10 mins a day
*take a walk
*read a book
*take a yoga class or do yoga at home
*live in the now, in the present
*get outdoors without any electronics……..enjoy mother nature & all she has to offer

Still on the fence about taking some quiet time each day, some benefits you may reap could be:
*you get recharged
*helps us sort through our days
*relaxes us
*better mental health state

*reduces stress
Taking time for ourselves to disconnect in order to reconnect is vital to our mental well-being.  There isn’t any one way to quiet our minds, for me it could be taking a walk but for you it could be meditating.  As long as we take time for your mental well-being, you’ll reap the benefits.  “The quieter you become the louder you can hear.” ~Ram Dass
How do you quiet your mind or quiet the noise of your every day?


Today marks the 16th day of a month-long challenge that I’m taking part in called Blogging A to Z.  If you’re looking me up on the list, I am #1100.  My theme for this month is simple living.  Are you doing the challenge?  Leave me a comment so I can follow along.  Feel free to share with me any ideas, thoughts, or topics of interest you would like me to cover.  Join me each day for my Living Intentionally Simple A to Z.

4 thoughts on “Quieting The Mind

  1. Oh wow. Some days I take time to quiet my mind, and what a difference! This month, though, with the A to Z challenge, I’ve had difficulty turning off the “monkey brain,” especially at night. I like the suggestion you gave to get outdoors without electronics. And to disconnect each day. I need to take that advice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me too. The A to Z challenge had me working over time, trying to pick a topic each day as well as keeping up with the schedule, that at the certain moment I’m a day or so behind.
      Being outdoors has always helped me but I’m lucky since I’m surrounded by nature, so it’s easy for me. But any kinds of outdoors would do a small park, walking path etc….There’s something to be said for just being outside and disconnecting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

