Thrifty Vs. Cheap

Would you dumpster diving for treasures?  Would you use store coupons stacked with manufacturer coupons to maximize your savings?  Would you reuse disposable silverware?  Do you reuse, upcycle, or repurpose items to save money & put one less thing in the landfill?  Do you save gifts bags & tissue paper for from parties, to use them all year long?  Do you shop the clearance section all year long for gifts, decor, household items etc….trying hard not to pay full price?  
For me, there is a difference between being thrifty and cheap.  Being thrifty is educating yourself and knowing when & where to spend your money.  A cheap person has a time parting from their money so much so they won’t, even if something saves them money over time.  They prefer the cheapest avenue, even if the quality is poor.
Years ago, I used to be a cheap person.  I had a hard time parting with my money and when I did, the cheapest option was always the one I picked.  We lived like this for a while, till I embraced the thrifty/frugal way.  The main difference between the two is educating yourself.
We all have our own definition of thrifty and cheap.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I may exhibit some cheapskate traits but I do consider myself a thrifty not a cheap person.   I began brainstorming and here are some difference between thrifty & cheap people:
*thrifty people aren’t afraid or unwilling to spend money
*thrifty people know when & where to spend money
*thrifty people buys quality items that may initially cost more, but lasts you a lot longer ie. furniture or car
*thrifty people reuse, repurpose, recycle, upcycle until that item is no longer useful, then they get rid of it
*cheap people always cut costs any way they can at any expense, while thrifty people cuts costs as it suits them
* Thrifty wont’ sacrifice their health over a good deal, cheap people a deal is a deal
*cheap people will buy more of an item that isn’t needed and thrifty people know when to say no, even if the deal is good.
Is there a difference between being thrifty and being cheap?  Are you a thrifty or cheap person by your own definition?


Today marks the 20th day of a month-long challenge that I’m taking part in called Blogging A to Z.  If you’re looking me up on the list, I am #1100.  My theme for this month is simple living.  Are you doing the challenge?  Leave me a comment so I can follow along.  Feel free to share with me any ideas, thoughts, or topics of interest you would like me to cover.  Join me each day for my Living Intentionally Simple A to Z.?

Leave a comment