Vermicompost

Untitled
Vermicompost is ”  the practice of using worms to break down food scraps. The resulting material is a mix of worm castings and decomposed food scraps,” taken from Google.
I really don’t know a lot about this, but was intrigued when my step mom told me about her worm farm, something she has always wanted to have.  I began looking around at this and came across vermicompost.  To be honest, I really didn’t know there were different kinds of composting.  I just thought, you compost, you compost.  Vermicompost is quite neat.  There are numerous benefits in this, some are:
*reduce wastes
*require no extra expenses
*low/no maintenance
* organic fertilization
*fits anywhere since it doesn’t take a lot of space
*there’s no smell
Looking to start your own, here are some great resources I’ve found:
*Vermicomposting
*Getting Started Vermicomposting- Raising Worms
*How To Start A Worm Garden
I plan on redoing the way we compost, and I think I may switch over to vermicompost.  It would be so beneficial for our garden, since I want to make our soil as nutrient rich as I can.  I just need to see if I can continue to use to compost bin we have or if I need to get a new one.
Have you heard of vermicompost before?  If you do what are some tips or ideas you can give beginners?  If not would you consider doing it in the near future?

Today marks the 22nd day of a month-long challenge that I’m taking part in called Blogging A to Z.  If you’re looking me up on the list, I am #1100.  My theme for this month is simple living.  Are you doing the challenge?  Leave me a comment so I can follow along.  Feel free to share with me any ideas, thoughts, or topics of interest you would like me to cover.  Join me each day for my Living Intentionally Simple A to Z.

One thought on “Vermicompost

Leave a Reply

