Wanderlust

123

I was going to write about wasting less, but I figured that was a go to for simple living, so I decided to go a different route.  Instead, I’m talking about a piece of simple living that is just as important to me as decluttering & simplifying…….wanderlust.
We have all had that question asked, if you could pick 3-5 words to describe ourselves, what would they be?  Well, wanderlust, would be in the top two.  It’s ingrained within the fibers of my being.  This is something my father instilled in me at a very young age.

2013-06-15 14.37.46
My father always loved to travel and because both parents were in the military, I got to travel a lot, much more than other kids my age.  Sure, I missed out of growing up in the same town my whole life, making any deep connects with others since I always moved, or having a “normal” childhood.  But looking back, I realized I gain so much more, so much that I wouldn’t have experienced if it wasn’t for my father’s love of traveling.  Not only did I gain his love of travel, but the people I’ve met, experienced different cultures (we have so many unique cultures within the US, which is quite amazing), each adventure tells a story in which I can relive through my photography, & navigated my way around which gave me a real sense of life……..cultured me.  I’m am forever grateful to my father for this, because I wouldn’t be the same with my strong desire of travel.
31
Now, when some think of simple living, traveling is the last on their list, which is totally fine.  Simple living or living simply looks different to us all but for me it is something important not just for myself, but for my family as well.  I am all about giving my family experiences over material possessions.  One way I do this is through traveling.  Since, I’ve always traveled in some way, shape, or form, my children had gained my love of traveling.
2014-07-26 09.14.03
We all make sacrifices for things we feel are important and since traveling is in the top 3 for me, I find ways to travel with my large family.  Depending where we are in life as a family or financially, it looks different.  Sometimes it may look like us getting up one summer’s morning deciding on the spur of the moment to get in our car and see where the road takes us (honestly, this is my most favorite way to travel) or other times it is camping on the ocean in the cape or bringing the kids to Santa’s Village or bringing the children to a new park or playground we’ve never been to before.  No, we can’t jet set overseas yet, but that doesn’t mean our adventures are any less, an adventure is an adventure.  Whatever it looks like, it’s important to get out, explore our surroundings, because you never know when the next adventure awaits and what it has in store for you.  If traveling isn’t important to you, then that’s fine.  But whatever is important to you, continue to incorporate it into your life because you don’t want to have regrets down the road.
2013-06-15 10.56.54

Is traveling important to you and your family?  Why or why not?


Today marks the 23rd day of a month-long challenge that I’m taking part in called Blogging A to Z.  If you’re looking me up on the list, I am #1100.  My theme for this month is simple living.  Are you doing the challenge?  Leave me a comment so I can follow along.  Feel free to share with me any ideas, thoughts, or topics of interest you would like me to cover.  Join me each day for my Living Intentionally Simple A to Z.

14 thoughts on “Wanderlust

  1. Yes, travelling is very important to our family as I am obsessed with it. We love to explore around our area and have ventured further away but the costs are high and lots of planning and saving are required to do so. I agree; experiences over possessions is what drives us as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can fully relate to your story. My parents always traveled a lot when I was young, so I had the pleasure to see many cities before I grew older. Sadly, at some point they stopped traveling that much, so I had to stay at home for some time. However, the wanderlust kept a spot in my heart and today with my own funds, I’m pretty much travelling each and every week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha he does remind you of a madmax character. He’s part of an attraction to a park, where you ride a train in the Wolf Man territory and he chases the train and yells at us to go away.

      Like

  3. My favorite travel memories come from the times we just went where the road took us. When my husband and I vacation, we don’t have an agenda. We might know where we are going, and maybe where we are staying, but we like to wake up and go with whatever we feel like doing that day. My least favorite thing about vacation is the travel arrangements (trying to find decent airfare and blah blah blah). Once I’m on my way, though, I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had fun with the challenge and already have my topic for next April, which is something I’m super excited about since I haven’t seen anyone else doing it.
      It is a crazy month but glad you came to visit. I would love to help with this, so if you are looking for extra hands for next April, please let me know. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

