Vanilla Depression Cake With Vegan PB Mousse Frosting

Have you heard of depression, wacky, or crazy cake?  Depending on who is introducing you to it, depends on what they call it, but it’s the same cake recipe.  Well, if you haven’t you are in for a nice yummy surprise.  Don’t let this recipe fool you, it is quite a delicious, addicting,a def keeper in your baking arsenal.  We make this a lot and I am sure you’ll be doing the same.
A few years ago, I came across this cake recipe, and just had to try it out.  This recipe is different than most because it doesn’t ask for eggs, milk, or butter……..you don’t even need a bowl or mixers for it.  It’s the perfect cake for my daughter who is primarily dairy free.  I thought about the frosting and since we are huge peanut butter lovers, I used my delicious peanut butter mousse recipe.  The combo is amazing, def a delicious treat you can whip up in the matter of minutes.

Vanilla Depression Cake With Vegan PB Mousse
**adapted from Sweet Blue Bird**

depression 1-1
Cake Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 c plus 3 tbsp flour (*gluten free all purpose flour in place of regular flour)
  • 1 Cup white sugar
  • 1  tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp. white vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tsp.  pure vanilla extract
  • 5 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 1 Cup water

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. Grease an 8×8 pan.
3. Mix the 1st 4 ingredients together right in the pan.
4. Using your measuring cups, make 2 small indents & 1 large indent.
5. Measure & place the vanilla & vinegar in the smaller indents.  Measure and place the oil in the large indent.

_RYA0053
6. Pour water over the entire cake and mix together well.
7. Bake for 25-30 mins depending on your oven.
~Enjoy~

 PB Mousse Frosting:

  • 1/2 can coconut cream
  • 3-4 Tbsp  creamy peanut butter

Directions:
1. The night before, chill your coconut cream.  The next day scoop out the cream on top of the can, which is what you need for this recipe.

2. Beat cream till light and fluffy.

3. Start adding the peanut butter a few tablespoons at a time till you get the desired peanutty taste.

4. Add which ever sweetener that you are using.

5. Spread on cake or cupcakes right away, or chill for later use.

_RYA0056 (2)
What do you think, could this be a recipe you use often?  What type of frosting would you use for this cake?


Sharing with:
Create With JoyA Peek Into My ParadiseCherished BlissGinger Snap

26 thoughts on “Vanilla Depression Cake With Vegan PB Mousse Frosting

  1. Pingback: 59/365 Cake Time | Ever Changing

  2. Looks very interesting. Never heard of a depression cake before. I am dairy free (or supposed to be) so this is right up my alley. I have also never had coconut cream icing before either. Maybe I have been cake sheltered growing up?

    Like

    • Maybe, but I didn’t hear about this till a few years ago myself, so you aren’t alone. I love using coconut cream icing since it’s a healthier alternative to regular icing, only problem is it melts a bit, so you will have to keep it cool or do what I do and let it melt into the cake a bit, adding to the flavor

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Sarah, this is a wonderful ole recipe, I made this with cocoa when my kids were young, we had it often. I never made it vanilla. Such and easy recipe! Im preparing for our WW and look forward to Co-Hosting with you again this week!!
    Hope you enjoy your week!
    Karren
    xoxo

    Like

    • Chocolate is the next flavor for me to try. The hardest part is figuring out what kind of frosting to make for it.
      Thank you for the opportunity to participate in your fun WW. I hope you have a great week 🙂

      Like

  4. Pingback: Oh My Heartsie Girls Wordless Wednesday | Oh My Heartsie Girl

  5. Wow! This cake looks really,really good.The recipe looks simple and I love how the cake looks! Pinning this for later! Thanks so much for sharing, visiting fro Oh My Heartsie Girls Wordless Wednesdays.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday | Living Intentionally Simple

  7. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday Link Party | Moms Who Can

  8. I have never heard of a depression cake before.
    I look forward to trying out this recipe. I may make it this Saturday for my Sunday School class.
    It’s great to be co-hosting with you this week with WW.
    Enjoy your week!!

    Like

  9. Pingback: Life Is A Party - Oh My Heartsie Girl Wordless Wednesday

  10. Pingback: Oh My Heartsie Girl Wordless Wednesday

  11. Interesting. The step where you put the oil in one indentation and the other two ingredients in the other. Makes me wonder how it gets distributed evenly. Thanks for Co-Hosting the Oh My Heartsie Girl Wordless Wednesday! I look forward to seeing you again next week!
    Mary
    Jingle Jangle Jungle

    Like

    • You know I thought the same thing so I did end up using a spatula to mix it in the pan because I was a little confused with the original recipe. and then I added it too lol. I think I’ll just take that out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

