Lose Weight By Playing With Your Children

**This post is part of my series “TWLD”  which is meant to be posted tomorrow but we are spending our day at the ocean so it’s a little early.**  To catch up with this series click here to read all the previous posts.

There are numerous ways to add in exercise & lose during the warmer months.  It just depends on what your goals are.  For me, I don’t like exercise if it’s a routine.  Blame my adhd on this one.  I like to mix things up a bit and can’t commit to doing the same home exercises each day.  That’s just super boring to me.  But if you can, that’s great!  It just isn’t in my DNA.

2012-07-22 16.58.09

Blueberry picking fun

There are numerous ways to add in exercise & lose during the warmer months.  It just depends on what your goals are.  For me, I don’t like exercise if it’s a routine.  Blame my adhd on this one.  I like to mix things up a bit and can’t commit to doing the same home exercises each day.  That’s just super boring to me.  But if you can, that’s great!  It just isn’t in my DNA.
I love biking, rollerblading, hiking, swimming, & walking.  But my most favorite way to exercise is by playing with my children.  Running around with them playing tag or playing hopscotch or going for a hike exploring a new area are just a few ways I can enjoy my time with the kids as well as get some exercise in, which in turn helps me lose weight.
The sheer energy children have is amazing and if I can keep up with them there’s no doubt the weight will be melting off me.  Each day I make it a point to engage with my children, being active as much as I can, all the while enjoy their company.  They don’t see it as exercising but as quality time together in which they have my undivided attention.  Plus, I want my children to grow up being active, so when they are adults, they don’t stop being active.  That was the biggest mistake for me, once I hit a certain age, I stopped being active.  I thought being thin meant your healthy, so I never exercised.  That was a hard lesson I learned when I got sick.

2012-06-25 16.32.15

Visiting the Ocean two years where we spent a good portion of our day chasing each other running up and down the coast.

To give you an example of how much calories you can possibly lose by engaging with your children, I used myself as the example below.

  • play tag- 78-200 depending on weight & duration 
  • hopscotch- 104 to 222 calories depending on weight & duration
  • running around playing tag238-327 for 1 hour depending on weight
  • hiking400-526 depending on duration & weight
  • walking– 148-204 depending on weight & speed for 1 hour ( I used slow speed as the example)
  • swimming- 400 calories in 30 minutes
    information taken from: Nutri Strategy & Modern Mom  

As a bonus I’m adding a helpful chart I found that breaks down some household duties & calories lost:
Chart was taken from: Popsugar

Activity Calories Burned
Running after/playing with kids (20 min.) 78
Playing outdoor games like hopscotch or dodgeball (30 min.) 104
Carrying your infant on a walk (30 min.) 109
Walking while pushing a stroller (30 min.) 78
Picking up toys (10 min.) 29
Vacuuming up the plant, food, sand or whatever else your toddler dumped over (10 min.) 29
Mopping up milk, maple syrup, and other spills (10 min.) 44
Washing dishes (10 min.) 22
Sleeping while they nap (45 min.) 41
Putting away groceries (10 min.) 26
Dance party to The Wiggles in the living room (15 min.) 88
Reading stories before bed (10 min.) 10

Aren’t the numbers crazy?  Who needs a gym when you have kids and household duties to attend to?  If you put your mind to it and stay as busy as possible during your days, you can burn through a lot of calories.  Add that to a healthy diet and you have a great way to lose those extra pounds, all while having fun with your children.  
What is your favorite way to exercise?  Why?


Sharing With:
Create With Joy

 

3 thoughts on “Lose Weight By Playing With Your Children

  1. Playing is quality time in both meanings…for you and your children! I sometimes even replace my workout with playtime!
    <ahref=”http://beaminglightwithtoni.blogspot.com”>BeamingLight

    Like

Leave a Reply

