Let Camping Help You Explore Simple Living

Since we are away for 11 days, I thought this week would be the perfect week to dedicate to camping.   So each post, will be themed around camping in some way.  Hope you’ll come and visit during this special week of fun.
Image result for camping quotes
Have you been considering minimalism but don’t know where to begin?  Do you wish to simplify things, taking out the unnecessary but what do you start with?  Does the concept of simple living appeal to you in numerous ways but can’t decide which topic to focus on?  
Well, the solution is simple, why don’t you explore these concepts through camping.
Camping is a great way to explore these concepts & see if it’s a right fit.  Don’t get me wrong, you can go camping and bring the entire house with you, that’s not the camping I’m talking about, since it isn’t any different than your home.  Instead, plan a trip, pack the basics, limit the so call extra items you think you need (set a limit of 10 small items or less), limit the food you take….have meals serve dual purpose like creating one meal that turns into two, figure out what gear you have or need to buy & get ready for your adventure.
We go camping in our popup, which is so much better than the tent.  I’m not a huge fan of it, sorry I know so many people who are.  To all of you out there who do it and love it, I give you credit, because I couldn’t handle doing it more than 2 summers.  I know for some this is a luxury and for others this is roughing it.  For me, it’s much smaller than our home, holds a lot less things, little to no clutter, & 99% of the items in it serves a specific purpose.  To me this is simple living, cutting down as much as we can, & still live comfortably.  It’s amazing how much fun you can having, living with less.
Camping means & has shown us something different.  No one person has the same experiences or takes the same lessons away, which is something I love.  Your experiences, lessons, & things you take away for your adventures are only as good as you decide on.  You get what you put in.  For me camping has shown me a lot but the most important things that I have learned has been:
* how little we really need to thrive 
* family time is important to us all, not just for us parents
*getting out of our comfort zones helps us grow individually & as a family 
*given the children a greater sense of responsibility & independence
*it’s fun being adventurous
*be so rewarding being able to incorporate my 2 favorite hobbies with our trips 

It’s only Aug, you still have plenty of time to plan a weekend getaway or week away camping trip.  I found a few articles that I’m sharing to help your trip go as smoothly as possible below:
How To Go Camping Minimalist Style
Minimalist Camping
Camping With The Family: Enjoying Creation & Simply Living Together
Your Camping Essentials
 How To Pack a Camping Kitchen
What is your favorite way to go camping, tent, popup, RV?  What is your favorite camping spot & why?


Sharing with:
Creative Home Keeper,

8 thoughts on “Let Camping Help You Explore Simple Living

  1. Wow, I absolutely loved this. I hadn’t been camping a while but my family and I went camping in alaska and It was so eye opening and rejuvenating. I felt so in tune with myself,with nature, with god, and with my family. Such a great post! Thanks for sharing and happy camping!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. 🙂 So far this trip has been great.
      Alaska must have been amazing. Its on my to visit list and I can’t wait. I’m glad your trip was so amazing, which I’m sure is just what you all needed. Being together surrounded by all that beauty must have been surreal.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love, Love, Love! I am camping with my parents, hubs and sis are busy so it’ll just be the three of us, and I absolutely cannot wait! Camping is such a fantastic way to recenter yourself and, like you said, realize how little you actually need. 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Healthy Living Link Party #24 | Living Intentionally Simple

Leave a Reply

