8 Ways To Have A Healthier Camping Experience

Camping is great but it’s also a great way to gain a few unwanted pounds if we aren’t careful.  This year, I have been determined to have a healthier camping experience.  I didn’t want to lose all the work I’ve done, keeping my weight off.  Since we all know it’s easier to put it on than it is to get it off, I thought I would share 8 different ways to incorporate healthier ideas while camping:

  1. Find local farmer’s markets or farm stands-
    when traveling always be on the lookout for stands, pick your own, & signs for farmer’s markets so you know what you have around you to choose from.  This is the 1st thing I did, when we 1st came out this area.  Lucky for us,
  2. Look on Pinterest for inspiration-
    need some ideas, good old Pinterest is there to help.  Whether it’s healthy meal ideas or fun activities or camping hacks Pinterest has got you covered.  Take full advantage of  this site or a similar one before you leave.
  3. Walk or ride your Bike everywhere- 
    this one tip alone has helped me shed the weight last year and is helping keeping the weight off.  We walk & sometimes bike everywhere around the campground.  We go for numerous walks a day, and I make it a point to make sure I hit my step goals each day.  So far, I’ve been way over 🙂
  4. Replace junk food snacks w/ healthy alternatives- 
    this I do for each trip.  I hardly ever pack junk food because I know they will get a treat from the store and 9 times out of 10 it’s candy or something else super sugary.  Plus, I don’t want to have it around me, tempting me to eat it.  So I pack cheese n crackers, hummus, rice cakes to name a few things.  Don’t get me wrong, I do indulge here and there, I just don’t make a habit of it.
  5. Stay active with your kids and/or dog- 
    this is an easy idea that some people may over look.  When your camping, your relaxing, so sometimes you aren’t as active as you can be.  For me, I try each day to do a few things with the kids, even something as simple as a walk with our dog, keeps us all active.  Because if I’m not careful, I could see myself just sitting around not being very active.
  6. Track your steps
    I have a Garmin watch I use, but there are numerous apps on your phone that will help you out.  Before tracking my steps, I wasn’t sure how much or how little I walked.  This holds me accountable and I know when I need to get off my butt.  Plus, my watch gives me little reminders throughout the day to get moving.
  7. Plan meals around few healthier foods-
    Pick healthier foods like potatoes or beans or something else and create meals highlighting these items.  For example, for potatoes (sweet or regular) you could cuts them up small and toss them in a pan with corn, & some sort of meat or beans.  Viola a healthy cheap meal that will feed a crowd or leave you with leftovers to enjoy another day.  Don’t have any ideas, refer to tip #2.
  8. Don’t forget to Have fun-

Got any ideas that aren’t listed to have a healthier camping experience?  I would love to hear your thoughts on this.  🙂


Sharing with:
Creative Home Keeper,

 

6 thoughts on “8 Ways To Have A Healthier Camping Experience

  1. I love finding new farmer’s markets when we go different places. It’s so fun to see what people are growing in different areas. Thanks for the tips! 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ll admit, we aren’t a camping family 😉 but these are great tips for whatever trip or get away you take with your family. I always plan and pack healthy foods for our car trips so we aren’t tempted to stop and buy the junk at the gas stations. And I love the idea about seeking out the Farmer’s Market! I always go to the local grocery store when we get to our destination but I have never thought about locating the market, even though it’s one of my favorite places at home! Thanks for the great list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

