No More Missed Opportunities

“One reason people resist change is that they focus on what they have to GIVE UP, rather than what they have to GAIN!” 
~Rick Godwin 

Change is uncomfortable, so we tend to avoid it. I can’t count how many times in the past, I missed opportunities because I was too scared of the unknown, scared of change. I was comfortable with the way things were. Why change a good thing, right? I was happy where I was in life, like I am right now.  I’m the most comfortable I’ve been in a long time because life is good!  But with school approaching fast, things were going to change.
For about a year now, I’ve been looking for a job that fits my kid’s schooling schedule, the pays decent, that is something I would enjoy, there’s growth within the company, & it’s something I could grow in, it’s part time or seasonal (mine’s since it ends in Dec), & it’s something I would look forwards to not dreading each day I’ve gotta work. This is a tall order to fill and has taken a long time but in July I finally found the job that I’ve been searching for. And when I actually got hired, I can’t tell you how excited I was. Then the excitement faded and my nerves took over. I began thinking about how many things that will change for us. Once that happened, it’s hard not to let your nervousness completely take over. I let it get the best of me, especially the night before training, where I ended up in the bathroom throwing up 3 times.

ONLY as high as I reach can i GROW, only as far as I SEEK can I go, only as deep as I LOOK can I SEE, only as much as I DREAM can I BE.”
~Karen Raun

This week I started 5 days of training, which is 1.5 hrs away from home. I actually enjoy the ride, just not how early it is. I’m lucky enough to have great people around me who have helped with watching my little ones.  Not worrying about the girls, has decreased my stress level a ton, letting me concentrate on my training.
Training has gone well and I’ve really enjoy it so far.  I’ve learned a ton as well as getting used to working with adults instead of small children.  I’m confident that when I’m on my own next week, I’ll do just fine, since I feel this job was meant for me.
This opportunity, is one that I’m happy to say I didn’t miss out on. When we live in our comfort zone too long, we tend to forget that change is necessary for our growth.  Life is all about change and how we adapt to it. Don’t miss an opportunity because you let your discomforts, fears, & anxiety get the better of you.  Push them aside and embrace whatever the opportunity presents you.
How about you? Have you missed an opportunities because of you feared change?

Leave a Reply

