Slowing Down This Weekend

“There is more to life than simply increasing its speed” ~Ghandi

The last three weeks have been busier than normal with the start of school, starting a new job (I haven’t worked in about 10 years or so), starting a daisy girl scout troop, & keeping up with my household duties.  Because of this, I made it a point to slow down, relax, & enjoy the little moments that are presented during the long weekend.
It might sound boring to some, but I didn’t have anything planned other than a birthday party.  Instead, I let each day unfold naturally, not knowing what it would hold.  As I write this, my two littlest ones are running around the yard trying to catch a monarch butterfly.  Earlier I started weeding & harvest the garden, which I’ve been meaning to do for a week or so.  As I was walking in with my garden’s bounty, I noticed some pretty Black-Eyed Susan that I just had to photograph.  Thirty minutes later, I strolled inside happy because I got some great images.   There’s something to be said for slowing down.
_RYA0613_-2_fused
There’s nothing that can compete with the power of slowing down.  It helps you refocus your energies, embrace the little things that matter the most, & lets you reboot your inner spirit.  I can’t tell you how awesome it was to pick up my camera, play around with the flower & light, and take some shots.  I photograph people for work so I’ve been burnt out with my photography.  I only used my camera once this month, for the 1st day of school, if that tells you anything.
As our long weekend comes to an end, I know we’ll be busy once again.  It’ll be like this till my seasonal job is over.  I knew going back to work would add an extra layer of busyness to our family.  But as long as I make efforts to slow down when I can, it’ll be fine.  I’m not overwhelmed or stressed, in fact it’s quite the opposite.  I’m happy that I found work I love, that I’m still able to be home for the kids after school everyday, & I’m able to contribute in a different way to our family.
_RYA0605_tonemapped
I can’t emphasize enough the importance of making a conscious effort to slow down.  Whether it’s once a day, once a week, or once a month, just taking the time to breathe, disconnect from technology, being present, & saying no makes a big difference in your life.  And will ensure your able to enjoy the little moments with your family & loved ones that you might otherwise have miss.

“Life moves pretty fast.  If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” ~Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

How’s your holiday weekend going? Have you been able to relax and enjoy yourselves? 


Sharing with:
Create With Joy,

One thought on “Slowing Down This Weekend

  1. When I woke up today (Sunday) I decided that I was not going to rush through anything. It was wonderfully relaxing! I did things as they came up with no pressure. Slowing down and setting aside technology are two things that really helped me distress and enjoy my day. I hope Monday is the same.

    Like

Leave a Reply

