Rustic Pumpkin Pie W/ Coconut Cream Topping

One of the biggest & best things I love doing in fall is eating all the delicious foods. I can’t seem to get enough, hence why I decided to this as my 31 day series. This year I’ve changed how I eat and I would like to continue with eating healthier food. But there will be days, that this won’t apply to. My month of recipes with be a mix, old & new, healthy & not, unique & common (with a twist of course), home made or semi etc.

pumpkin pie

This image isn’t good, I didn’t have much time to take one tonight. Don’t judge this recipe by the image.

Today’s recipe is one that I have been meaning to make but never got around to it.  Well today is the day.  I loved the pie but only half the kiddos like it since it wasn’t sweet.  They were expecting something with lot of sugar in it like blueberry pie.   I love the taste of this pie but if you’re looking for something a little sweeter either use sweetened coconut or add a little bit of sugar.  But if your like me who love pumpkin and coconut but not a huge sugar fan, you’ll love this recipe.  Another great thing about this recipe, was the crust I used.  I loved how the granola tasted with the coconut and pumpkin.  Such a great combo!

Rustic Pumpkin Pie W/ Coconut Cream Topping
adapted from: Cynthia Presser
serves 8

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of puree pumpkin
  • 1 premade crust ( I used a granola one)
  • 1 can (14 oz) sweetened condensed milk, divided
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup (7 oz) unsweetened coconut

Directions:

  • In a food processor add the pumpkin, ginger, cinnamon, & half of the milk.  Mix well.
  • Pour pumpkin mix into pie crust and spread out.  It will fill most of the crust so don’t worry.
  • Mix the remaining milk with the coconut.  Mix well.
  • Pour over pumpkin mix in the crust and spread out.
  • Bake @ 350 for 20-30 mins
  • Take out of oven let cool for 15 mins.  Then transfer to fridge to let cool for a hr or two.
  • Slice when ready to eat.

~Enjoy~

2 thoughts on “Rustic Pumpkin Pie W/ Coconut Cream Topping

Leave a Reply

