Letting Go Of The “What Ifs” That’s Cluttering Your Life

155
Around this time last year, I shared about how my journey of simple living led me to more places than I ever thought.  One of those places was mindfulness or mindful living.  Here’s an excerpt of that post:

Mindfulness is a term I came across when I started my journey of living a simpler life.  Mindfulness pretty much is to Live in the now, live in the moment.  But a better description is:  “Mindfulness is the practice of becoming more fully aware of the present moment–non-judgmentally and completely–rather than dwelling in the past or projecting into the future. It generally involves a heightened awareness of sensory stimuli (really noticing your breathing, feeling the sensations of your body, etc.) and being “in the now.” While mindfulness has origins in Eastern philosophy and Buddhism, there is no necessary religious component to mindfulness — anyone, with any belief system, can enjoy the benefitof mindfulness,”  taken from About Health
Once, I began researching mindfulness, I started incorporating it, into my daily life.  Some of the ways I am more mindful are:”  ~Read more here.

It’s it funny how I think of similar things during the same time each year.  Being mindful is important to me, but over the last few months, I’ve really pushed it aside.  Instead of living in the present, I’ve been living in the land of what if.  You know what I’m talking about: what if I need this down the road, what if I lose all the weight & need my skinny clothes, what if it comes in handy for something I’m going to be doing someday.
We all have these at some point or another.  But for me, it seems I have been holding on to more than I’m getting rid of.  Yesterday I was looking at the clothing I had in storage, my skinny clothes.  I know I may never reach that point again, so why are these clothes still here I wondered.  Every time I look at them, they make me a little sad, I haven’t reached my goal.  It’s been 2 yrs and I’m not where I thought I would be.  But when these are out of sight, I’m happy of the progress I’ve made & how I’m changing my lifestyle, not just dieting.  But it takes time for this change to happen.  That’s when I realized how dangerous it can be holding on to possessions for some possible use in the future.
Over the next few weeks, I’ll be making it a point to eliminate my what ifs.   I’ll be making a conscience effort to go through my life & whatever I’ve been holding on to for a use in the future, I will donate or sell them.  These things are just lingering, taking up space, cramping my family, & not adding an value to my life.  In fact, they add more stress to me than it would if I would eliminate them.
Do you have a cause of the what ifs?  Why do you keep them around?
Love to hear your thoughts on this


Sharing with:
The Jenny Evolution,

8 thoughts on “Letting Go Of The “What Ifs” That’s Cluttering Your Life

  1. I too have struggled with the What-ifs. I grew up learning that ever extra screw or nail, the smallest piece of soap and yes, those skinny clothes are better saved than having to purchase new. I finally gave away all my skinny clothes. I figured that at my age even if I got down to the same exact weight I was before I’ll probably carry that weight in a different way so those clothes would never fit me the way they used to. Now the screws and nails. Well, I still believe it’s nice to have a few on hand for those what-ifs but now I have a small jar and when that is filled I’ll call it good.

    Like

  2. Pingback: heartsie-girls-wordless-wednesday

  3. Pingback: Gift Of Time - Wonderful Wednesday | The FABulous Journey

  4. Pingback: 89th Wonderful Wednesday Linky Party | Living Intentionally Simple

Leave a Reply

