Realease Your Guilt: 5 Reasons Why Taking Care of Ourselves Isn’t Selfish

“It’s not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself, & to make your happiness a priority.  It’s necessary.” ~Mandy Hale

Being a wife and mother, I put my husband & children ahead of myself.  I know that there are numerous parents out there who do the same.  It has been like this for as long as I remember. I always felt guilty of doing something for myself, because I could have done whatever it was for my family.  This year, in my efforts to take care of myself, I realized how that way of thinking is counter productive. In fact, it prohibited me to properly take care of myself.  We need to love ourselves enough to take care of our mind, body, & spirits.  If we don’t, who will?
Once you start taking care of yourself, the guilt we have all felt one time or another will fade.  I don’t feel guilty if I want to go to the gym instead of volunteering at my daughter’s school.  I know I do a lot already and that what I do is enough.  I don’t feel guilty when I go running, leaving my little ones with their brother.  I know they are in good hands & I’m only gone for a short period of time.  Still not convinced here are a few reasons why taking care of ourselves isn’t selfish……..

5 Reasons Why Taking Care of Ourselves Isn’t Selfish
20160220_154925-2 (1)

  1. Eating healthy is needed as fuel for our minds & body
    Supplying our body with the proper nutrients it needs to thrive is so important.  I can’t stress enough the importance of this.  The food I ate damaged my body more than I ever thought.  I didn’t realize how much till I cut those foods out of my diet.  Once you get over the initial hump, you’ll feel so much better.  And you’ll be thankful that you replaced the processed & junk food, for healthier options.  It truly does make a whole of difference.  Not convinced, try cutting something out for 3 weeks and see how you feel.
  2. Taking care of ourselves enables us take care of our loved ones
    If we aren’t in good shape, how will we be able to give our loved ones our 100%.  We can’t.  As sad as it is to admit, before I started taking care of myself, I didn’t have much energy to truly be present with my kids.  I didn’t play or engage with them, like I do now.  Because of how I’m making myself a priority, I’m able to give my loved ones so much more of me.
  3. Exercising regularly not only helps us keep in shape but it gives us energy needed throughout our day
    I’ve noticed over the last month, how much more energy I have because of exercising.  It’s interesting on the days I go to the gym or running how much better I feel compared to when I don’t.  I have lots more energy to get things done & I’m able to engage with my kids longer.
  4. Shows our kids how important it is….show by example
    Growing up, self care wasn’t a concept I knew.  My dad gave us his all and had nothing left for himself.  This is where my mommy guilt came in.  I thought be a good mother meant going without so my kids don’t.  But it doesn’t.  I didn’t realize the importance of self care.  By giving my kids an example to follow, I’m hoping they always take care of their whole self.
  5. Healthy mind, body, & spirit radiates love, compassion, & generosity
  6. Happiness is a side effect of self care
    Last week, I had lunch with my dad and he made an interesting comment about how much happier I seem.  I thought about this all the way home and realized just how right he was.  I have been a lot happier since I’ve started eating healthier & making exercising a priority.  Want more happiness in your life?  Start taking better care of yourself.

Now I’m not saying to go out and spend a ton of money on ourselves.  Just take a real hard look at yourself & your life.  Is self care an important part in your life?  Or is it needing some support?  If you’re like me and was really lacking, figure out ways to work on this, something realistic you could do a regularly and start making it a point to do it.  Stop making excuses and start implementing small ways to take better care of ourselves.  If we don’t who will?

Is self care important to you?  Or is it a new concept for you?  
Love to hear your thoughts on this.


Sharing with:
Denise Designed, My Soulful Home, Moms Small Victories, Create With Joy, Strangers & Pilgrims On Earth, Sew Crafty Angel, Creative Home Keeper,

43 thoughts on “Realease Your Guilt: 5 Reasons Why Taking Care of Ourselves Isn’t Selfish

  1. I use to be the same. I found that the more time I put into taking care of myself I was able to support my friends and family better. I enjoy working out, exploring hiking trails, biking and going on walks. I’m still working on eating healthy and I have come a long way in making that better. It’s a life style change. Give yourself a big dose of love…you deserve it! Love and hugs! I’m proud of you and your accomplishments!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you for such a sweet comment!
      It def is a lifestyle change, one that I work on each day. I too love hiking trails, biking, walks, working out, & exploring the world around me. Way to go for you to change your life! It sounds like you are enjoying yourself 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This post is so perfect. I think we all have the mentality of just doing “one more thing”, when the reality is that the one thing we should be doing is taking care of ourselves, or at least finding time to make ourselves the priority. These are such great reasons!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Exactly! I have a new routine where I work out at least 5 days a week for an hr & then I attempt to go running/walking for a mile. One day I will eventually be able to run that whole mile.

      Like

  3. Kinda crazy to think that taking care of ourselves would be selfish. If we dont look at our own well being first, we will be a hot mess to others. And nobody has time for that. Eat healthy, exercise, and yes – the happiness follows. Which in turn, helps others MUCH more.
    Karen | GlamKaren.com

    Liked by 2 people

    • It is isn’t it. I wish more parents realized they are just as important as their families. I know I wished it didn’t take me as long as it did to realize this. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  4. Sounds like we are on the exact same page. I want to be there not only for my kids but for my grandchildren as well. I don’t know where or when we decided that working out was “work” and not “fun” like it was back when we were kids. Time to find the fun again!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. These are all wonderful points! As a SAHM of 2 babies, it can be so difficult to put myself first, but #2 is what I remind myself constantly. If I don’t take care of myself, I won’t be able to take care of them.

    Liked by 2 people

    • That’s when I stopped taking care of myself, when I stayed home with my babies. Only when they all went to school full time, did I realize how much I’ve done that. Yes, keep reminding yourself and you won’t be in the same boat as me. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  6. It is in our mom blood to take care of everyone else first. I had my aha moment one night when I took the smallest piece of chicken one night – and I was really hungry! Why does a 4 year old need more chicken than me? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This past Monday I restarted my diet and exercise routine, there are things that make it difficult but I certainly feel much better, more well rested even after I workout. I think my husband and children are already noticing a difference. Also, my skin looks so much better! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • YAY, good for you! Look at all those positives from taking care of yourself 🙂
      I too feel much better when I do a little exercising combined with my eating healthy. Plus, I feel much more energy than I do when I don’t exercise.

      Like

    • Def agree with you there. More people need to stop saying no to themselves or no valuing them as much as their loved ones. Thanks for stopping by & commenting. Hope to chat with you again 🙂

      Like

  8. I agree with all of this! When I had my second child I felt like I was under water, and never felt refreshed, but then I realized I needed to take the time for myself otherwise I wouldn’t be able to take care of others. Now, with my third a toddler, I am making sure to do that more often!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad you’re putting yourself on the same level as the ones you’re taking care of. I didn’t realize how little I did for myself, till I made it a point to take care of myself. It does make such a difference. Thanks for stopping by & commenting. Hope to see you again 🙂

      Like

  9. Amen!! You are so right and it took me so long to make those decisions! I only wish I had started them earlier than I did. They go a long way in setting you up for healthier post-retirement years. I was aware exercise was a very big hump for me because I was not good at staying on track nor enjoying it so almost 6 years ago I hired a personal trainer and it is a part of my post-retirement budget as a better investment than not being healthy and paying doctors’ bills and medication expenses! Happy to be discovering you as my neighbor at the Linkup today at Good Morning Mondays.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me too. I wished I didn’t wait as long as we did but at least we figured it out right?!
      I think that’s great you knew that about yourself and took steps to make sure you got over it. 🙂 I took had a hard time with exercising, as it wasn’t something fun or something I look forwards too. So I found a few things I enjoyed and have been enjoying myself since. Thanks for visiting. It’s always nice to meet new neighbors 🙂

      Like

  10. Pingback: Oh My Heartsie Girls Wonderful Wednesday | Oh My Heartsie Girl

  11. Pingback: Oh My Heartsie Girls Wonderful Wednesday Link Party - BFB

  12. Pingback: Wonderful Wednesday Linky Party | Living Intentionally Simple

  13. Pingback: Semi-Grown Kids - Wonderful Wednesday

  14. Pingback: Wonderful Wednesday - Turn Around At 50

  15. Pingback: Intentional at Home Thursday #34 - Creative Home Keeper

  16. This is so true and such a great reminder! As moms in particular I think we need to hear this over and over again.. I know I’m a better mom when I take the time to take care of myself, but sometimes it’s so easy to put that on the back burner. Thanks for the great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

