Eliminating The Unnecessary……..2000 Things In 38 Weeks

_RYA0064
Decluttering my life is something important to me.  Over the last few months I’ve been working on myself a lot and other things like decluttering my house for example have been pushed aside.  Yes, I’m admitting I’m not super woman & cant do a hundred things at once.  But this weekend while I was cleaning, I began really looking at my house and  realized that I really need to do a deep cleaning of our home.  That there are numerous things throughout my home (inside & out) that we don’t use, add no value, & just simply take up space.   It’s time I get back on the decluttering wagon.
Of course, this isn’t going to happen overnight but from now till the end of 2016 I’m making it my mission to get rid of 2000 things in our home.  If you think about it, it’s kinda of interesting that I would have 2000 things clogging up our lives, taking up space & adding no value,  which in the end will take up my time that could have been spent doing something enjoyable, doing something that added value to my life, & or spending it with the important people in my life.  It’s kinda of embarrassing.   But I’m not even close to being a hoarder.  I can’t imagine so people’s home & how many things that are taking over their lives.  It’s crazy when you think about it.  Now think about your home & your situation?  How many things (big or small) could you live without?

Now 2000 may sound like a lot but if you break it down, it really isn’t.  2000 things @ 38 weeks equals 52.63 items per each week.  If you divide that by 7 it’s only 7.51 things a day I need to get rid of.  Piece of cake, right?!
And because I’m all about sharing, I’m going to share my progress with all of you.  I’ll even break it down to let you know what I’m doing with the things for example: where  I’m getting rid of my things like selling it, donating, or simply throwing it away.  That way I can honestly share what I do with my things, which I hope inspires others to join in with me. And I want to show people how easy or hard it is to make money from what we have in our house.  Any money I make from decluttering, I’ve decided to put towards my credit card, hoping to have it paid off by the end of the year with only using the money I make from this endeavor.

Week #1-
1. bag of stuffed animals the girlies no longer loveput in yard sale pile (April 30th we are doing a school wide yard sale that we can rent spaces from.  I’m doing it with my daughter so it’ll only be $7.50 for a space)
2. two shirts that no longer fit my boys- put in yard sale pile 
3. 5 brand new texture paints I’ve been holding on to for a yr now- put in yard sale pile
4. 3 pairs of skinny jeans that I’ve been saving for when I lose all my weight- put in yard sale pile ( if I ever get to my goal, I’ll just buy myself some new jeans.  Holding on to my skinny clothes hurts my weight loss journey more than it motivates me)
5. 5 pairs of shoes- donated to goodwill
6. 2 cake pans I haven’t used in 2 yrs-put in yard sale pile
7. 2 Furby booms- Sold super quick on Craigslist….made $10
8. rug remnants- trying to sell on Craigslist

This week’s breakdown is:
*3 items on Craigslist (2 sold & 1 waiting to be sold) making me $10 so far
*5 items donated to Goodwill
*12 items + bag of stuffed animals (about 20 in bag) for our yard sale on April 30th
totaling: 20 items & $10 in cash for 30 mins of work

FYI-If you look at my list, each item has numerous items in it.  I didn’t see the need to count things individually like doing 8 stuffed animals as my week’s goal.  If I did that to begin with, I’d take even longer than I am to declutter my house, & I’d lose steam.  But you can do whatever suits you.  It’s all about our own unique goal, perspective, & how fast or slow you want the process to go.  For me, by the end of the year I’m hoping to have more than 2000 items gone.

How about you?  What have you gotten rid of lately?  How’s the decluttering going?  Have you pushed it aside like I did?  If so why don’t you join me & share your progress each week with me.  I would love to hear your thoughts, see your progress, &/or ways you can make money from it.  


Sharing with:
Sew Crafty Angel,

12 thoughts on “Eliminating The Unnecessary……..2000 Things In 38 Weeks

  1. We never think about what happens when all those things we brought into our homes needs to find a place to store or eventually get rid of. I went through a huge purge a few years ago. In my case it was getting rid of all the excess that came from raising a family now that the home was only inhabited by one. It caused me to look closer to what I bring in now for the grandchildren so that as they grow I won’t end up with a lot of stuff that needs re-homed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Very good point. And I think it’s great you did that. It’s so true that a lot of us don’t think about where the stuff we buy will end up when we no longer need or want them. I know I try hard to not throw things away, donate, recycle, sell, consign, etc. That way I’m hoping someone will give it a new home, giving it new life. 🙂

      Like

  2. I need to do this challenge. :-/ It’s so easy to collect things you don’t need and it’s so hard to get rid of them. Sounds like you are doing great and making money at the same time! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • So very true. Which is why I started doing this challenge. I needed a way to actually start decluttering, instead of just talking about it. Plus any extra money I can make is just icing on the cake. Yes, so far so good, but I need to make sure I motivate myself each week to do this, so I don’t push it aside again. 🙂 thanks for visiting & commenting.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Life Moves Quickly - Wonderful Wednesday

  4. Pingback: Oh My Heartsie Girls Wonderful Wednesday-Slideshow Features | Oh My Heartsie Girl

  5. Pingback: Oh My Heartsie Girls "Wonderful" Wednesday's Linky Party - BFB

  6. Pingback: Wonderful Wedneday Linky Party | Living Intentionally Simple

Leave a comment