Starting A Real Food Storage on $5/week

 

In my quest to live simple, eating healthy is high on my priorities.  Before I got sick, the importance of eating healthy didn’t seep in.  I didn’t understand how much the food we eat affects us, nor did I understand that food can also help heal us from the inside out.  That’s a big lesson to learn the hard way.  But thankfully, I did learn from it & I am working on instilling it with my children.

One thing I have been wanting to do to help with eating real food, is to start my own food storage.  This is something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time, but never did because I kept telling myself that it would cut into my food budget to much.  In reality, I can afford to spend $5  a week on it, I was just lazy.
Like with anything you do, you have to plan it out.  So, I went online in search of a reference guide I could follow to adjust to my families liking.  But nothing out there I really liked till I found Intentionally Domestic Real Food Storage on $10 A Week.   Her food storage list was exactly what I was looking for, utilizing real foods, which does include meats & honey.  The only major difference for me, is that I am only allotting $5 a week, not $10, which is very doable.  You just need to know how to put store sales & coupons to work for you.  The only thing I changed on her list, is the amount from $10 to $5 for certain weeks when you buy cuts of beef or spices.  Below is her list for a year of food storage.  And if you want more information click on the link above and it will direct you to her site & article.  **Remember this is just a starting point, feel free to change it around to fit your needs, using whatever amount works for you each week.**

Real Food Storage on $10 a Week

From IntentionallyDomestic.com

1- One refill pouch of Real Salt
2- 3-4 cans of full-fat coconut milk
3- raw honey
4- One container of almond meal
5- One container of coconut flour
6- $5 in your family’s preferred cut of chicken to freeze
7- 2 cans of salmon
8- Winter squash for your root cellar
9- One container of coconut oil
10- $5 in your family’ preferred cut of beef to freeze
11- 1-3 pounds of butter
12- $5 in your family’s favorite spices
13- White vinegar
14- 1 container of baking powder and 1 food-grade baking soda
15- A variety of canned tomatoes
16- 2 cans of salmon
17- 1-2 containers of your favorite nut butter
18- 3-4 cans of full-fat coconut milk
19- A variety of frozen veggies
20- $5 in your family’s preferred cut of chicken to freeze
21- 4 cans of diced tomatoes
22- $5 in your family’ preferred cut of beef to freeze
23- 4 jars of applesauce
24- Cabbage to turn into kraut
25- Apple cider vinegar
26- 10 pounds of sweet potatoes
27- One container of coconut oil
28- one container of almond meal
29- 1-3 pounds of butter
30- $5 in your family’s preferred cut of chicken to freeze
31- 4 jars of tomato paste
32- $5 in your family’ preferred cut of beef to freeze
33- $5 in your family’ preferred bacon to freeze
34- 4-5 cans of pumpkin
35- $5 in your family’ preferred cut of beef to freeze
36- 3 pounds onions, 4 pounds carrots to root cellar
37- 8 pounds of white potatoes to root cellar
38- $5 in your family’s favorite spices
39- 1-2 packages of dehydrated vegetables for soup mix
40- $5 in your family’s preferred cut of chicken to freeze
41- 3-4 cans of full-fat coconut milk
42- 4 jars of applesauce
43- 2 cans of salmon
44- A variety of frozen veggies
45- 1-2 containers of your favorite nut butter
46- 1-3 pounds of butter
47- One container of coconut oil
48- raw honey
49- $5 in your family’ preferred bacon to freeze
50- $5 in your family’ preferred cut of beef to freeze
51- $5 in your family’s preferred cut of chicken to freeze
52- 1-2 containers of your favorite nut butter

Will you join me in my quest to stock up with real foods?  Is this something you could do every week on $5?  Is there something you would add or take out of this list?  Love to hear your thoughts on this. 

 

linked with:
Ramblings of a Bad Domestic Goddess, Create With Joy

13 thoughts on “Starting A Real Food Storage on $5/week

  1. Very interesting! I’m constantly trying to make healthy+cheap+convenient work for me. It’s so hard! I’m going to have to bookmark this for future reference b/c I think I can really benefit from it. Thanks for posting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Np, glad you find it useful. 🙂
      I hear you on eating healthy cheaply. When I 1st started out, it was so hard and frustrating to eat healthy with my large family of 7. But now, it is easier, but I do find it challenging at times when there isn’t any good sales.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Oh My Heartsie Girls Wordless Wednesday | Oh My Heartsie Girl

  3. Pingback: AskLatisha Guest-Host (April-Week 3)- Oh My Heartsie Girl Wordless Wednesday | AskLatisha.com

  4. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday Party | Living Intentionally Simple

  5. Pingback: (Not-So) Wordless Wednesday Week 3 - Blog Hop + Linky - Math Lovin' Momma

  6. Pingback: Oh My Heartsie Girls Wordless Wednesday Link Party ~ Week 20

  7. FYI, this is not a years worth of food storage. This is buying food for storage over a year. For a family of 4 this could get you through a month. There would be leftovers of spices and condiments but that would be it.

    Like

    • this helped steer me in the right direction to start my real food storage. For me with a family of 7, I cater it to our needs and likes, & it has helped us. i did have to switch a few things around but it’s just a starting point. Plus, what i buy is extra, on top of what I already buy so it does us. When my budget is extra small i use my storage and when its not then I Don’t so I csn build up my storage.

      Like

  8. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday - The Whole Serving

Leave a comment